Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2024, 07:53 AM
audiogamble audiogamble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
Default TB3 Card for MTRX Studio - Possible to integrate HD I/O interfaces?

Hi there. I'm helping set up a studio where the existing setup is 2 HD I/O 's connected to an HDN PCI Card. We're adding Dolby Atmos to the setup, and went with the MTRX Studio to provide monitor control / tuning for the atmos system. Eventually we'll also migrate the stereo monitoring setup over to the MS as well.

He also purchased the TB3 option card.

I wanted to reach out here to get some clarity on what our options are with the MTRX Studio and how it could integrate with his existing HD I/O converters.

Does having the TB3 card now negate the need for his HDN card? IE - is there a way to connect digilink from the MTRX Studio to the HD I/O 's, and then use the TB card to interface to the computer? Does having the TB card allow the MTRX Studio to act as a digilink host in this way?

If not, is the only way to maintain use of the HD I/O's is to connect them, and the MTRX Studio as interfaces to the HDN Card?

I think I know the answer, but I'm having a hard time finding online resources for the Thunderbolt card that would confirm this. Perhaps someone from avid, or a user more experienced in this could chime in?

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2024, 08:10 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: TB3 Card for MTRX Studio - Possible to integrate HD I/O interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogamble View Post
Hi there. I'm helping set up a studio where the existing setup is 2 HD I/O 's connected to an HDN PCI Card. We're adding Dolby Atmos to the setup, and went with the MTRX Studio to provide monitor control / tuning for the atmos system. Eventually we'll also migrate the stereo monitoring setup over to the MS as well.

He also purchased the TB3 option card.

I wanted to reach out here to get some clarity on what our options are with the MTRX Studio and how it could integrate with his existing HD I/O converters.

Does having the TB3 card now negate the need for his HDN card? IE - is there a way to connect digilink from the MTRX Studio to the HD I/O 's, and then use the TB card to interface to the computer? Does having the TB card allow the MTRX Studio to act as a digilink host in this way?
In a word, No.

If you were using HDN and now have TB3 you will get much better performance from the MTRX Studio's TB driver than from HD Native.

If you need IO expansion beyond what is on the MTRX Studio then look at Dante or ADAT expansion.


Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogamble View Post

If not, is the only way to maintain use of the HD I/O's is to connect them, and the MTRX Studio as interfaces to the HDN Card?
If you had HDX (rather than HD Native) then there is *sometimes* an argument for connecting one MTRX Studio digilink connector to one HDX digilink connector and using the other HDX digilink connector to connect to the HD IO.

But with HD Native, there is no point at all if you have the TB3 card.

The HD Native card and HDIO are a decent set up to sell on to someone.
I would do that in your position, and buy some appropriate expansion for the MTRX Studio from Focusrite, Ferrofish, Lynx, RME or any of the companies who make good quality ADAT/Dante expansion.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2024, 10:01 AM
audiogamble audiogamble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 237
Default Re: TB3 Card for MTRX Studio - Possible to integrate HD I/O interfaces?

Appreciate the reply

You mentioned:

Quote:
If you were using HDN and now have TB3 you will get much better performance from the MTRX Studio's TB driver than from HD Native.
Do you mean actual performance in terms of how smoothly the unit runs, or do mean that in terms of functionality? I understand that going away from HDN and onto core audio would allow for higher voice counts in pro tools sessions for example. Anything else I might be missing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2024, 10:13 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: TB3 Card for MTRX Studio - Possible to integrate HD I/O interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogamble View Post
Appreciate the reply

You mentioned:



Do you mean actual performance in terms of how smoothly the unit runs, or do mean that in terms of functionality? I understand that going away from HDN and onto core audio would allow for higher voice counts in pro tools sessions for example. Anything else I might be missing?
I meant lower latency.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AVID HDX Card and MTRX Studio danik Buy & Sell 0 07-22-2023 11:11 AM
MTRX Studio on TB with DigiLink to interfaces? Novae Studios Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 6 07-19-2023 02:36 PM
MTRX Studio tuning v MTRX SQP card Goombot Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 9 07-15-2021 11:00 AM
MTRX Studio not found on HDX card cchobbs Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 2 03-20-2021 06:25 AM
How to tune SPQ card in MTRX Studio nedd Post - Surround - Video 13 07-31-2020 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com