Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-02-2024, 12:25 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,184
Default Re: Beating Pro Tools Delay Compensation tip...

Plugins with look ahead (dynamic eqs, look ahead limiters/compressors, most "AI" plugins) add massive latency numbers that have to be compensated for. Avoid as much as possible, freeze/commit these, or for ones with adjustable lookahead settings, reduce lookahead buffer as much as possible.

Linear eqs add massive latency numbers (because the filters have to be calculated forward and reverse to be linear.) Use min phase or natural phase.

UAD hardware plugins add massive latency (due to communication back and forth to the hardware) when used as a plugin inside a DAW (the Spark versions don't)

Finally, using a bunch of high latency plugins on one track is bad for compensation. But spread out across multiple parallel tracks (must be parallel -- if it's on one track that busses to another track and so on with plugins on each, it's the same as stacking all those plugins on one track) can actually be good. Because if all the tracks have latency due to plugins, the lowest latency number doesn't have to be compensated (subtracted from the latency comp) for all the tracks.

(if you are dealing with AAX-DSP there is also the trick of keeping those together so processing isn't getting swapped often between DSP chips and computer processor)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-02-2024, 01:14 PM
anguswoodhead's Avatar
anguswoodhead anguswoodhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Queensland, Australia
Posts: 142
Default Re: Beating Pro Tools Delay Compensation tip...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Plugins with look ahead (dynamic eqs, look ahead limiters/compressors, most "AI" plugins) add massive latency numbers that have to be compensated for. Avoid as much as possible, freeze/commit these, or for ones with adjustable lookahead settings, reduce lookahead buffer as much as possible.

Linear eqs add massive latency numbers (because the filters have to be calculated forward and reverse to be linear.) Use min phase or natural phase.

UAD hardware plugins add massive latency (due to communication back and forth to the hardware) when used as a plugin inside a DAW (the Spark versions don't)

Finally, using a bunch of high latency plugins on one track is bad for compensation. But spread out across multiple parallel tracks (must be parallel -- if it's on one track that busses to another track and so on with plugins on each, it's the same as stacking all those plugins on one track) can actually be good. Because if all the tracks have latency due to plugins, the lowest latency number doesn't have to be compensated (subtracted from the latency comp) for all the tracks.

(if you are dealing with AAX-DSP there is also the trick of keeping those together so processing isn't getting swapped often between DSP chips and computer processor)
Thankyou
__________________
https://www.glasshousestudios.com.au

Mac Studio M1 Max
32 GB ram
macOS Ventura 13.1
24 core Metal 3 GPU
Avid MTRX Studio
Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.12
HDX card
AVID TB3 1 slot PCie Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2024, 05:57 PM
Coconut_Head Coconut_Head is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Location: Nashville
Posts: 25
Default Re: Beating Pro Tools Delay Compensation tip...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Finally, using a bunch of high latency plugins on one track is bad for compensation. But spread out across multiple parallel tracks (must be parallel -- if it's on one track that busses to another track and so on with plugins on each, it's the same as stacking all those plugins on one track) can actually be good. Because if all the tracks have latency due to plugins, the lowest latency number doesn't have to be compensated (subtracted from the latency comp) for all the tracks.
I've never heard of the lowest not needed to be compensated, but I'd be delighted to find out if this is true... So clarify this for me, please:
Example: 3 tracks
Track A = 17,000 samples
Track B = 16,000 samples
Track C = 1,000 samples

Are you saying that because they are all above 1,000 samples, Track C doesn't need to be compensated, and track A and B are compensated 16,000 and 15,000, respectively?
Would that mean you CAN have a latency above the DC limit of 16,383 samples (Track A in the example) so long as the difference between the lowest and the highest is underneath said limit?

If that's NOT what you're saying, then Track A's DC would be shut off and instead not be compensated at all, right? So Track C would then get 1,000 samples of compensation, Track B get 16,000 samples of compensation, and Track A get 0 samples of compensation?


I have more questions regarding DC, but those are all I'll ask here. Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2024, 07:38 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,184
Default Re: Beating Pro Tools Delay Compensation tip...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coconut_Head View Post
I've never heard of the lowest not needed to be compensated, but I'd be delighted to find out if this is true... So clarify this for me, please:
Example: 3 tracks
Track A = 17,000 samples
Track B = 16,000 samples
Track C = 1,000 samples

Are you saying that because they are all above 1,000 samples, Track C doesn't need to be compensated, and track A and B are compensated 16,000 and 15,000, respectively?
Would that mean you CAN have a latency above the DC limit of 16,383 samples (Track A in the example) so long as the difference between the lowest and the highest is underneath said limit?

If that's NOT what you're saying, then Track A's DC would be shut off and instead not be compensated at all, right? So Track C would then get 1,000 samples of compensation, Track B get 16,000 samples of compensation, and Track A get 0 samples of compensation?


I have more questions regarding DC, but those are all I'll ask here. Thank you in advance!
Yes. It isn't exceeding the limit though (that's what you are misunderstanding).
Delay compensation limit is the limit on compensation not on a general concept of delay. If one track is 1000 samples and the others exceed that number, the other tracks get the lowest subtracted as their compensation number.
No "limit" is exceeded because it didn't happen.
Delay compensation is a relative number. You can watch this by simply adding plugins to tracks (if you have the delay comp entries open on the Mix window.) If you delay Track A a lot but then add plugins to Track B that increases that Track B's delays, then Track B doesn't need to compensate for the amount of delay already added by the new plugins. Only the difference.

I should make mention, by default, an input-enabled or record-enabled track in Pro Tools has zero delay compensation (you have to put it in blue-mode to compensate). So adding (or enabling) such a track can throw the math off.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-05-2024, 09:32 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,569
Default Re: Beating Pro Tools Delay Compensation tip...

Hi, are we absolutely certain that ADC has not been increased to 32K samples at 44/48k?

I have cloned an audio track with a drum loop and soloed the two.

I put a UAD Multiband (dsp) comp on one and everything is perfectly in time.
If I add a second UAD Multiband, it's now 33K samples and the two tracks are out of time.
So I removed one and kept one in, and kept adding high latency UAD plugins till my 2 DSP ran out and it showed 28K sample delay, and the two tracks are perfectly in time

Maybe it's a bug and NOT supposed to behave this way, as the figure IS indeed red, but it's definitely at 44K, checked both in PT project info and UA Apollo Mixer.
Edit, I seem to be getting reliable compensation up to about 18K yet I get clicks and pops in the audio in this situation. Weirdest thing I ever encountered in PT to this day.
__________________
- Intel 14900K/NzXt Kraken Elite/64GB Kingston DDR5 6000 mhz (32x2)/ Asus Pro Art Z790/Asus 4090/Win 11 Pro 23H2/UAD Apollo 8 x2 w TBolt 3 card u/g/UAD Twin X.

Last edited by TNM; 03-05-2024 at 09:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 delay compensation problem TheLastHobson macOS 11 08-25-2013 12:50 PM
Pro Tools 9 Delay and Delay Compensation on Aux Tracks and Bussing CNSound macOS 1 01-27-2012 11:10 AM
Delay Compensation In Pro Tools LE RussUK General Discussion 22 12-10-2009 02:31 AM
Pro Tools 8 LE: Delay Compensation ETA? devkerr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 01-21-2009 09:38 AM
My problem with Pro Tools HD 7.2 delay compensation jacko Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-19-2007 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com