Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2023, 04:24 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 211
Default Silent hard drive bay

Hello everyone,

I've just received a bay for both SSD NVME and SATA HDs to use along my Mac Studio.
My previous setup (Mac Pro, HDX, etc...) used to be in another room for noise purposes but, now that I've chosen to go full native (with the M2 Ultra) I was hoping to be able to keep the whole setup in the mixing room.

The M2 Ultra is super quiet, the Hub (Ethernet/HDMI, etc...) is super quiet but the hard drive bay ( OWC miniStack STX ) is freaking loud!
It seems that, no matter the temperature, the fan is always running at maximum speed and is of poor quality (plastic).

I'm gonna return it and am looking for a quiet solution, hoping this exists.

Does anyone have recommendations for such a product (external bay for SSD NVME drives, from 8 to 16TB)?
Thanks.
Mat
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2023, 08:14 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 211
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Oups, sorry, found this thread that's pretty much about the same thing...
But it's kinda "old", don't hesitate if you have further recommendations....
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.

Last edited by SD2; 12-22-2023 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2023, 09:49 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

The OWC Thunderblade is fanless but it is very expensive, you can't buy it without drives, you have to buy theirs. It also only gets the speeds they claim (2600 MB/s) in RAID 0, otherwise it is around 700 MB/s.

I haven't found anything I'd be happy to have in the control room, which is why these things go in the machine room.
I'm using a pair of Sonnet 3 bay expansion chassis in a rackmount with OWC Accelsior 4M2's and a Highpoint SSD7505 RAID card.
I get circa 2500MB/s from these as JBOD's.

If you need to put them in separate rooms then the Corning optical TB cables are great, but expensive.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2023, 12:53 PM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 211
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Thanks for the reply.
Yes, 1500 bucks is way too expensive, I'm looking into less expensive solutions (will post the results).
For that price, getting optical thunderbolt cables could indeed be a better solution...
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2023, 03:25 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Thanks for the reply.
Yes, 1500 bucks is way too expensive, I'm looking into less expensive solutions (will post the results).
For that price, getting optical thunderbolt cables could indeed be a better solution...
I put the Macs and the drives in the machine room.
If you do that then you could use any external hard drive you like.

I still have a few of the optical TB cables, but that is because putting a TB Dock (per machine) in the studio is the best and most reliable way to distribute USB and video from the machine room.

My main issue is finding a reliable, high refresh rate KVM.
I've been through 4 of them now and they just, quite frankly, suck.

But having *all the things with fans* in the machine room and not in the studio is really worth it.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2023, 05:20 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,594
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

I think remote optical Thunderbolt 3 is a great option.

OTOH if you are just doing M.2 SSD then the Sonnet Echo Express SE IIIe work nicely for me for use on the desktop. They have nice Noctura fan and for me with multiple M.2 drives in them are effectively silent except when starting up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2023, 04:09 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Was just on the Sonnet site and saw this:

https://www.sonnettech.com/product/e.../overview.html

Might be an option.
Not fanless but Sonnet are pretty good for that.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2023, 04:09 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 211
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Hi Darryl,

Thanks for the lead.
Regarding the Sonnet, I'm a little bit lost. Will it take SSD NVME hard drives?
It's supposed to take PCIe cards but I'm a little bit confused regarding those formats....
Is a SSD drive considered as a PCIe card?
(sorry for the dumb question but it has been 10 years since I last changed my setup, so.......)
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-23-2023, 04:15 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Hi Darryl,

Thanks for the lead.
Regarding the Sonnet, I'm a little bit lost. Will it take SSD NVME hard drives?
It's supposed to take PCIe cards but I'm a little bit confused regarding those formats....
Is a SSD drive considered as a PCIe card?
(sorry for the dumb question but it has been 10 years since I last changed my setup, so.......)
If you mean the Sonnet that he linked to then you'd use a PCIE NVME card like the OWC Accelsior 4M2: https://www.owc.com/solutions/accelsior-4m2

The one I linked to you can put 2 NVME's in it with no PCIE card required.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2023, 05:15 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 211
Default Re: Silent hard drive bay

OK James, thanks, I'll look into that.

Also, am I right in assuming that SSD NVME drive don't go above 4GB? I can't find 8GB models...
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Silent Thunderbolt Drive Docks Steamy Williams macOS 9 12-23-2016 01:28 PM
Silent external firewire drive? SSD? Piers Gibbon macOS 5 02-22-2013 10:01 AM
Very silent external FireWire drive wasserwerk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 11-13-2010 05:00 AM
DAE can't get audio from hard drive fast enough, hard drive may be fragmented, there huncke Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 02-23-2010 02:06 PM
silent hard drives Paul David 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-13-2007 03:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com