Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-30-2023, 01:00 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebaz View Post
...I am leaning toward the firewire card having the Texas Instruments chip, not being compatible with Windows 10...
In my desktop, I use a firewire 400 card, with TI chipset, from SIIG. Works well on Windows 10 & 11. Try asking Dell tech support.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2023, 08:14 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
In my desktop, I use a firewire 400 card, with TI chipset, from SIIG. Works well on Windows 10 & 11. Try asking Dell tech support.
I am pretty sure I have the same card and it was rock solid in Win7.
I have been in touch with Dell support and they have been very helpful but have no specific knowledge of the 003 interface. The last conversation I had with them the suggestion was to do a fresh install which I did using the Dell Win10 install. The Precision came with a GTX card, so I removed that and used the on board video to rule out conflicts with the GTX card. There may be some driver conflict with the Dell version of Windows, so if the VIA firewire card does not work I will try an install from the Microsoft site and see if that changes anything.
If I swap the card back to the T3400 Dell, (as I have had to do to keep working), there are no issues. What PC are you running your 003 on?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-31-2023, 07:13 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,115
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Make sure you're using the legacy Firewire driver: https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...oting/en370145

I had issues with an old Nvidia Quadro video card causing latency and switched to a Radeon that helped, but there are lots using Nvidia.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-31-2023, 07:58 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebaz View Post
... VIA firewire card ...
My firewire 400 PCIe card is by SIIG. It has the TI chipset. It works great on Windows 10 & Windows 11.

Consider ditching firewire. Lots of great USB audio interfaces. Or thunderbolt. Time to move on.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-01-2024, 10:25 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Consider ditching firewire. Lots of great USB audio interfaces. Or thunderbolt. Time to move on.
Yesterday 02:13 AM
This is what I will do if I can't get it to work reliably.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-01-2024, 10:28 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
Make sure you're using the legacy Firewire driver: https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...oting/en370145

I had issues with an old Nvidia Quadro video card causing latency and switched to a Radeon that helped, but there are lots using Nvidia.

Joel
I am pretty sure I had the correct legacy driver, but it did not fix the problem.
I am using an Nvidia Quatro card in the Win PC and there are no issues that I am aware of.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-02-2024, 12:04 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

You need a fw 400 card with a TI chipset.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-02-2024, 09:13 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,115
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

My problem was a driver issue with the Quadro - changing to the basic Windows video driver would stop the latency issues, but limited the resolution and features of the video card which is why I switched brands.

You can try running LatencyMon to see what is causing your problems: https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon

I second EGS's comment about using a TI chipset: https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...S/faq/en404647

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-04-2024, 12:34 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,636
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

TI chipset for sure.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2024 HDX Hybrid
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-05-2024, 04:22 AM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
You need a fw 400 card with a TI chipset.
The card I am using is the SIIG card that I believe has the TI chipset and for whatever reason is not working right in windows 10.
I have a VIA card now that is supposedly compatible with Win10.
I will try the card and also do a new install using a Win10 ISO from 2018 and see if that has no conflicts like the Dell Win 10 has.
If none of this works, I will start looking at a USB interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 3 11-06-2023 05:26 AM
Is there a plugin that receives audio from a Windows application (aux IO for Windows) ZerglingPhilosophy AAX Plug-ins 4 10-05-2022 01:42 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com