Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2023, 01:40 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 191
Default MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

My mtrx2 has startup problems with Dante...
Last recording at a live venue, and Dante card status showed error.
When I checked Network settings, the primary Dante interface was set on 'Manually', while I had saved it 'using DHCP'. Also the Dante Name was empty.
I was 3 days at the venue and every morning I had to do some startup cycles with power down and power it up again until 'using DHCP' was set as how I saved it in Dadman.

Now back in my studio the Dante interface is again in error... and I have to go through some power up cycles to get it started.

Anyone an idea ?

Thanks,

Johnny Hulst
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Scherm*afbeelding 2023-11-13 om 10.29.49.jpg (18.2 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT Ultimate 2024.03.0, Avid S1, Eucon 2023.11
16" MacBookPro (2023) M2 Max 12-core, 64gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, OSX 14.4.1

MTRX v.2.4.2.2 + dante card + madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MTRX-II v.1.0.5.2 + TB3 + 1x AD mic 8ch + 1x DA 8ch
+ madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MOM v.1.0.1.4 by DAD

Genelec 1237A Sam, Avantone active mixcubes
LA2a (1968), 1073 pre/eq, Neve RNHP, Wacom Intuos Pro
Furman P1400 AR E Power conditioner

Live-rack:
1x HD Native TB, 4x 192 I/O (64ch AD)
8x Yamaha HA-8 micpre, Rosendahl mif4,
Genelec 1031A, Presonus Monitor Station
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2023, 06:44 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Greetings,

Can you please indicate what your mainboard firmware version is in the MTRX II (Device List) and also, please send a screenshot from Dante Controller > Network View > Device Info (when the issue occurs) so we can identify if something is askew on the Dante network? Thanks.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2023, 01:00 PM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 191
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Hello Jeff,

Firmware is 1.0.3.4, as you can see in the picture which I added in my first post.

Unfortunally I cant make a screenshot of the device side of the dante manager, because the mtrx2 is not showing at all.
Untill several restarts are done.

Johnny
__________________
PT Ultimate 2024.03.0, Avid S1, Eucon 2023.11
16" MacBookPro (2023) M2 Max 12-core, 64gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, OSX 14.4.1

MTRX v.2.4.2.2 + dante card + madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MTRX-II v.1.0.5.2 + TB3 + 1x AD mic 8ch + 1x DA 8ch
+ madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MOM v.1.0.1.4 by DAD

Genelec 1237A Sam, Avantone active mixcubes
LA2a (1968), 1073 pre/eq, Neve RNHP, Wacom Intuos Pro
Furman P1400 AR E Power conditioner

Live-rack:
1x HD Native TB, 4x 192 I/O (64ch AD)
8x Yamaha HA-8 micpre, Rosendahl mif4,
Genelec 1031A, Presonus Monitor Station
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2023, 04:30 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Sending you an updated firmware package. Let us know how it goes.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2023, 02:04 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 191
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Thanks Jeff,

Definitely better but not gone...
In my studio I flick a big switch on my power regulator and everything goes "ON" and the Mtrx2 doesn't like that I think.
If I have the Mtrx2 "OFF" when I flick the switch and turn the Mtrx2 on by hand it works as it should.
So I have to power down the Mtrx2 and set the power switch "OFF" before I switch everything off with the big switch on my power regulator.

Now that I know this, its ok, but my old MTRX 1 has no problems whats so ever.

Thanks for the update !!

greetings from the Netherlands.
Johnny
__________________
PT Ultimate 2024.03.0, Avid S1, Eucon 2023.11
16" MacBookPro (2023) M2 Max 12-core, 64gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, OSX 14.4.1

MTRX v.2.4.2.2 + dante card + madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MTRX-II v.1.0.5.2 + TB3 + 1x AD mic 8ch + 1x DA 8ch
+ madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MOM v.1.0.1.4 by DAD

Genelec 1237A Sam, Avantone active mixcubes
LA2a (1968), 1073 pre/eq, Neve RNHP, Wacom Intuos Pro
Furman P1400 AR E Power conditioner

Live-rack:
1x HD Native TB, 4x 192 I/O (64ch AD)
8x Yamaha HA-8 micpre, Rosendahl mif4,
Genelec 1031A, Presonus Monitor Station
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2023, 04:00 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 719
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

I power down the MTRX II/AX64 each night but I don't power down the Furman power distributor they are attached to.

If you like I can run some tests where I power off the MTRX II at the distributor for a couple of days to see if I can replicate your issue. In my dim distant memory I think I might have had a similar issue in the past when the power tripped out and I needed to power cycle the AX64 and MTRX II before they came back on properly.

A difference between the MTRX I and II in terms of power design is the MTRX I has a toggle switch, the II has a soft switch.
__________________
James Richmond
https://www.jamesrichmond.com

2019 Mac Pro, 2022 Mac Studio Ultra
Avid S6, HDX2, MTRX II, MTRX, DAD AX64, AX32, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Studio: https://www.voltperoctave.com | Music: https://www.euclideancircuits.com
Latest Article: Auto-Bounce for Logic Pro

Affiliate Links:
Auto-Bounce by Tom Salta
Dreamhost Web Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2023, 06:49 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Thanks for the feedback. We will be investigating that behavior.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2023, 07:46 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 191
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Was too early with "it's definitely better..."

This morning had to do several shutdown and restarts to get the Dante circuit working.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2024.03.0, Avid S1, Eucon 2023.11
16" MacBookPro (2023) M2 Max 12-core, 64gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, OSX 14.4.1

MTRX v.2.4.2.2 + dante card + madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MTRX-II v.1.0.5.2 + TB3 + 1x AD mic 8ch + 1x DA 8ch
+ madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MOM v.1.0.1.4 by DAD

Genelec 1237A Sam, Avantone active mixcubes
LA2a (1968), 1073 pre/eq, Neve RNHP, Wacom Intuos Pro
Furman P1400 AR E Power conditioner

Live-rack:
1x HD Native TB, 4x 192 I/O (64ch AD)
8x Yamaha HA-8 micpre, Rosendahl mif4,
Genelec 1031A, Presonus Monitor Station
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2023, 02:08 AM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 191
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

This morning the whole MTRX2 didn't come alive in Dadman... after a few restarts it came alive but again not with Dante. So went to DAD's site because I saw on Instagram they released new versions yesterday.
Installed firmware upgrade for my Mtrx1 and for Mtrx2, new Dadman installed too, but Dante will not startup in one go with the mtrx2. Even with the latest firmware.

It's getting to a point that I don't trust it anymore.
Everyday restarting the damn thing before I can get to work, once, twice sometimes three times or even more... :-/

Too bad because I like it a lot even more with the new stuff in dadman.

Anyone a clue what I should do? Avid ? DAD ?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2024.03.0, Avid S1, Eucon 2023.11
16" MacBookPro (2023) M2 Max 12-core, 64gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, OSX 14.4.1

MTRX v.2.4.2.2 + dante card + madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MTRX-II v.1.0.5.2 + TB3 + 1x AD mic 8ch + 1x DA 8ch
+ madi baseunit + optical SFP 1300nm
MOM v.1.0.1.4 by DAD

Genelec 1237A Sam, Avantone active mixcubes
LA2a (1968), 1073 pre/eq, Neve RNHP, Wacom Intuos Pro
Furman P1400 AR E Power conditioner

Live-rack:
1x HD Native TB, 4x 192 I/O (64ch AD)
8x Yamaha HA-8 micpre, Rosendahl mif4,
Genelec 1031A, Presonus Monitor Station

Last edited by Johnny Hulst; 11-30-2023 at 02:20 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2023, 03:38 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX 2 Dante error at startup

Sorry to hear this. Please open a case then PM me the case# and I will make sure this gets escalated.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dante latency with MTRX PT_NOOB_CH Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 6 05-22-2023 05:16 PM
MTRX Sources - >Trinnov MC16 Dante ->MTRX Out routing ??s Jeff Schmidt Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 4 03-18-2022 02:21 PM
MTRX Dante IO clintonHT Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 10-13-2021 04:14 AM
MTRX Studio using Dante only c-tone Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 15 08-20-2021 02:00 PM
MTRX Dante 128 Card Error MarkH Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 10 08-20-2021 05:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com