Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2023, 10:56 AM
PT8716 PT8716 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 154
Default 96 i/o & Windows 11

Will an older 96 i/o and HD Native PCIe card work with Pro Tools 11.3.1 on Windows 11? I want to get my rack mic pres into my system with high quality and still within my budget. Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2023, 11:55 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,621
Default Re: 96 i/o & Windows 11

You don't say clearly what you own today, or what your budget is.

"into your system"...your profile only lists an ID14 interface, you cannot add/mix DigiLink with that. If that is your system today why not just add an ADAT mic/line in box?

The 96IO is not the issue. Beyond requiring DigiLink.

HD Native is past end of sale life and just old and typically offers no benefits, and has several issues, vs. a good quality USB interface. Main benefits come if you need to run a Sync/Sync X or if you want lots of IO (and have HDX). I would not be buying any of this now, if I had it sitting in a closet.... I'd probably sell it and buy a USB interface... unless I was replicating another rig/studio setup.

You need Pro Tools HD or Ultimate, not Pro Tools standard to work with DigiLink interfaces.

Pro Tools 11 is way outside anything officially supported. https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...tibility-Chart But if you google around you might be able to find instructions for folks who have gotten this running.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 08-25-2023 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2023, 12:05 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,893
Default Re: 96 i/o & Windows 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT8716 View Post
Will an older 96 i/o and HD Native PCIe card work with Pro Tools 11.3.1 on Windows 11?
For W11 you need PT 2022.4 or later. Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2023, 12:24 PM
PT8716 PT8716 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 154
Default Re: 96 i/o & Windows 11

Darryl,
My system is AMD Ryzen 3900X, 64GB Ram, 6700 Graphics card, Windows 11. My iD14 MKII & PT 11.3.1 run extremely well on this machine and my new MSI W11 laptop. I can absolutely keep using this setup but what unit do you recommend to connect via ADAT to give me the inputs for my 8 rack mic preamps?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2023, 01:21 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,621
Default Re: 96 i/o & Windows 11

Just about any ADAT preamp will work fine even if they don't have true mic bypass/line input.

If you like Audient the ASP880 is an obvious one to look at. Has DB-25 direct line inputs or through pads into the preamp for TRS inputs.

Ferrofish make a very nice Pulse 16x16 line level ADAT box if you want future expansion.... and it's well priced if you only want line level.

You only have a single TOSLINK input on the iD14 MK II so when you use that as ADAT you lose S/PDIF in. And it's an ADAT/SMUX port, so 8 inputs at 44.1/48kHz 4 inputs at 88.2/96kHz. If you need beyond that upgrade the interface to another USB one from Audient or others.

ADAT is always a nice way to go because just about whatever you do in future the boxes will be useful.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 3 11-06-2023 05:26 AM
Is there a plugin that receives audio from a Windows application (aux IO for Windows) ZerglingPhilosophy AAX Plug-ins 4 10-05-2022 01:42 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com