Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Sync X & SYNC HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2023, 11:05 AM
jimmiplex jimmiplex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 12
Default Sync Hardware Setup - Word Clock

I am setting up an atmos post sound mixing system with two mix machines and a record machine. They will be connected via satellite link, and mix to record will be connected via Dante. Each system HDX. Each system running MTRX II's.

To have frame edge sync, the plan is to have 3 Sync HD's receiving video reference from a black magic sync generator.

My question is: with video reference going to all machines, is word clock also necessary to sync the system? Would I need to go from the main Sync HD word clock out to the other two Sync HD word clock ins, then out to their MTRX's?

Is there a benefit to adding word clock, or is the video reference to each system getting them in sync and word clock not necessary?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2023, 01:06 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Sync Hardware Setup - Word Clock

best practice: a master clock that drives everything (word and video ref)
acceptable: ref clock the recording rig and take word clock from it to the 2 source rigs
vid refing might work but keep your ears open for the pops that a word clock miss may cause
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2023, 07:20 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Sync Hardware Setup - Word Clock

Use the video ref for all systems.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2023, 02:23 PM
jimmiplex jimmiplex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Sync Hardware Setup - Word Clock

Thanks for your help Will and Craig! I have the system up and running, the Sync X is great for the distribution of all those signals.

Thanks again,
Jimmie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Word Clock Master in the HD setup uphillstudios General Discussion 1 03-03-2020 10:33 AM
Proper Word clock setup with SYNC I/O, Digital 192 and external converters doubtful guest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 03-31-2010 01:13 PM
PT8//Word Clock//Loop Sync//Big Ben whatsprotools Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 02-27-2009 10:56 AM
Word clock sync goga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 08-11-2008 11:28 AM
L2 won't sync to 192 Word Clock Studio Dweller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-23-2003 06:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com