Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2022, 10:15 AM
Mixmaster Rick Mixmaster Rick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 164
Default EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

All,

I had been using macOS Catalina on a MacBook and my Pro Tools 2022.4 environment with EuCon worked perfectly fine.

This week I purchased a Mac Studio (M1) and installed Pro Tools 2022.5 along with EuCon 2022.4.0.78 and have been unable to get anything done. I have tried reinstalling EuCon, uninstalling and repeating yet whenever my computer restarts post installation EuCon seems grayed out. I get the message to add at least one surface (I have a Dock and 2 S1's) and while they appear in All Surfaces I am unable to Add or Remove them.

Can you please help?
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2023.12.1, Mac Studio 2023 M2 Ultra, 64GB RAM, macOS Ventura 13.6.4 (22G513), UAD Apollo X8, Apollo x6 x2, UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Octo, UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Quad, Avid Dock w/ iPad Pro 12.9", Avid S1 x 2 w/ iPad Air 10.9", Neumann KH 310 w/ KH750 Sub, Genelec 8320A, Adam Audio T7V w/ Sub8, G-Technology TB3 x 6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2022, 11:37 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

I only use an iPad with EuCon but the following works ok:

Mac:
MBP M1 Max 16" on Monterey 12.5b3
PT 2022.5
EuCon 2022.4.0.78 (EUCON Version 4.8.6.78)

iPad:
iOS 15.5
EuControl 2022.4.0.60
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Ventura 13.6.6, Pro Tools 2023.12.1, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2022, 09:31 AM
eightamrock eightamrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Stats
Posts: 78
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixmaster Rick View Post
All,

I had been using macOS Catalina on a MacBook and my Pro Tools 2022.4 environment with EuCon worked perfectly fine.

This week I purchased a Mac Studio (M1) and installed Pro Tools 2022.5 along with EuCon 2022.4.0.78 and have been unable to get anything done. I have tried reinstalling EuCon, uninstalling and repeating yet whenever my computer restarts post installation EuCon seems grayed out. I get the message to add at least one surface (I have a Dock and 2 S1's) and while they appear in All Surfaces I am unable to Add or Remove them.

Can you please help?
So I dont have any eucon interfaces directly connected over ethernet, but I have had a lot of issues getting eucon to work with my ipad and the control app. The best fix was setting up a separate wifi network that was not multiband, but 5Ghz only and connecting my computer and my ipad to it. Eucon has worked well ever since.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2022, 01:30 PM
Mixmaster Rick Mixmaster Rick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Boston USA
Posts: 164
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

For whatever reason EuControl lost all of my surfaces so I started with a power down then up and it detected the Dock and two S1's. At this time I'm up and running again. I'm seeing several weird things with macOS Monterey though...
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2023.12.1, Mac Studio 2023 M2 Ultra, 64GB RAM, macOS Ventura 13.6.4 (22G513), UAD Apollo X8, Apollo x6 x2, UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Octo, UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Quad, Avid Dock w/ iPad Pro 12.9", Avid S1 x 2 w/ iPad Air 10.9", Neumann KH 310 w/ KH750 Sub, Genelec 8320A, Adam Audio T7V w/ Sub8, G-Technology TB3 x 6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2022, 04:30 PM
bemelodic bemelodic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 4
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

Everything was working fine until 2 days ago.

Eucontrol shows Artist Mix both in "All Surfaces" and "My Surfaces". In PT I have EUCON enabled in Peripherals.

I don't get any connectivity on the mixer. As though it knows it exists but can't communicate. So the screens are blank with exception of the pan bar. Faders down all the way.

I've tried rebooting, uninstalling EUCON, reinstalling it. EUCON is listed in the accessibility under the OS security settings.

Computer and Artist mix are connected to switch via Cat5e.


Hardware:
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max; 32 GB.
Avid Artist Mix
Netgear 5-port un-managed switch
AT&T Fiber Router

Operating System:
macOS Monterey 12.6.1

Pro Tools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2022, 05:23 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,591
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixmaster Rick View Post
For whatever reason EuControl lost all of my surfaces so I started with a power down then up and it detected the Dock and two S1's. At this time I'm up and running again. I'm seeing several weird things with macOS Monterey though...
Just for some added info, that era of PT and EuCon wasn't great for me either but the more recent versions have been pretty solid. EuCon does occasionally lose my iPad but restarting the iPad Control app fixes it so that seems to be an app issue. I'm also using an M1 w/ Monterey, fwiw.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2022, 03:16 PM
James Steele's Avatar
James Steele James Steele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

I'm on a M1 Max Mac Studio with Monterrey 12.6.1 and using an older Euphonix MC Control and MC Mix that is flashed with latest Avid firmware, and both units are working well here. Not sure what to suggest, but it is working here. I hope you find where the problem is and can fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2022, 10:35 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,591
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Steele View Post
an older Euphonix MC Control and MC Mix that is flashed with latest Avid firmware
The original silver ones? I have one of each but they won't connect anymore. I've not done anything to the firmware in over a decade however. I'm curious about this Avid firmware of which you speak.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2022, 12:33 AM
James Steele's Avatar
James Steele James Steele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

Yes, the old Euphonix branded silver ones. I downloaded the latest Eucon Unified installer and ran it and I think when you launch EuControl and/or select your device it will prompt you if you need to update the firmware. If you haven't updated firmware in a decade than it's may very well be the problem.

You need to go to the "Download Center" here:

https://my.avid.com/esd/Product/Information/113

... and download the EUCON Unified Installer from Sept 15, 2022. It's right near the top. Install that. I can't remember the exact steps but at some point in the process, if your units are connected to your Mac, you will be prompted to update the firmware in the attached units.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2022, 05:52 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 265
Default Re: EuCon Not Working macOS Monterey

I had weirs stuff going on with Eucon out of the blue.
Support helped me with a solution:


- download the latest installer
- check uninstall options and run (un)installer

- restart mac

- reinstall Eucon
- restart mac


hope that helps
__________________
Mac Studio, 32GB, PTHD2022.7, OS 12.5.1, S3, Transport, (EuCon 2022.4.0.78)
LIO-8
BlackmagicDesign UltraMonitor3G
Reaper 6.66, Fireface UCX


MacbookPro M1Pro PTHD2021.12 MacOS12.1
BlackmagicDesign UltraMonitor3G

MOTU 24Ao AppleTB3toTB2->AppleTB2->Ethernet->AVB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox not supported by MacBook pro MacOS Monterey 12.x Maripersen Pro Tools 12 4 09-17-2022 09:24 AM
Avid Quartet and macOS Monterey gng75 Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 0 04-24-2022 05:41 PM
macOS Monterey 12.3 officially supported! DerrickC Pro Tools 62 04-01-2022 01:31 AM
Mbox3 pro MacOs Monterey SIP suggested Madsvigeholm macOS 5 12-28-2021 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com