Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2021, 04:17 PM
bonehead88 bonehead88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 46
Default From Win10 PT20 to Win11 PT21?

Hey all - always great advice here.

I just had a major bummer and needed to restore my OS thru Dell Support.
I was using Win10 w/ PT20.? and a handful of iLok plugs - mostly Waves.

Should i start from scratch and jump into Win11 and PT21.10?
is it a headache?

Is there a "maximize Win 11 list"?

thank you
__________________
www.boneheadstudio.com
Dell I9 32GB Ram Win 10 PT2020
Allen & Heath Qu32, AB168, 5 x ME500
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2021, 04:54 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,697
Default Re: From Win10 PT20 to Win11 PT21?

There are some threads on the DUC about Win 11 (do a search). It seems W11 has not broken Pro Tools i.e. things that work on W10 also work on 11. No drama.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2021, 05:36 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,697
Default Re: From Win10 PT20 to Win11 PT21?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonehead88 View Post
...Is there a "maximize Win 11 list"?...
Not yet. For now, I'd suggest doing ALL of these AVID optimizations: https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ndows-10-Guide
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2021, 06:13 PM
bonehead88 bonehead88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 46
Default Re: From Win10 PT20 to Win11 PT21?

thank you for the link!
__________________
www.boneheadstudio.com
Dell I9 32GB Ram Win 10 PT2020
Allen & Heath Qu32, AB168, 5 x ME500
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2021, 02:36 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 917
Default Re: From Win10 PT20 to Win11 PT21?

So, when it doesn't work, which will you blame - the OS upgrade or the PT upgrade? How will you troubleshoot it?

Just change one thing at once.

Dominic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12.3.1, Win10 Pro and Digi 003 Muziqjonez FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 07-07-2021 01:20 PM
PT2019.5 and Win10 senghor Pro Tools 2019 2 05-11-2019 08:50 AM
Pro Tools 12 on Win10 and C24 Camilo Toledo ICON & C|24 5 02-22-2017 02:03 PM
Repeatable Bug? 12.5.1/Win10 YYR123 Windows 3 12-28-2016 02:35 PM
What version of PT12 are you using? Are You using Win10? senghor Pro Tools 12 18 06-22-2016 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com