Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2021, 03:51 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 562
Default 2021.6 and High Sierra

High Sierra is not listed in Avid's requirements for 2021.6, but 10.14 is.. Anyone having success with OS 10.13.6 and a cheese grater?
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2021, 06:52 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,190
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Works fine on two systems.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2021, 06:53 PM
bobo mark bobo mark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hongkong
Posts: 245
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Works fine on Mac Pro 6.1 too
__________________
Regards
Bobo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2021, 08:18 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,903
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Always remember that "working" and "supported" are two different things so your mileage may vary
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2021, 09:32 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 562
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Thanks for the replies. I'll give it a shot.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2021, 09:51 AM
tripmusic tripmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

HS and Mac Pro 5,1 working ok for me so far.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2021, 01:44 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

same here. in fact it's awesome.
CPU core load balancing seems way better distribution across the 24 displayed core threads, rather than that old peak around core thread #12

my 5,1 3.46GHz 12-core is barely ticking over with 5 layers of plugin slots full across 24 tracks, processing audio all the time. 8% total CPU usage.

I know we're a critical bunch here (myself especially) pointing out more and more details of things that need to be addressed, but seriously - Avid has knocked it out the park with this update.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2021, 03:59 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,167
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
same here. in fact it's awesome.
CPU core load balancing seems way better distribution across the 24 displayed core threads, rather than that old peak around core thread #12

my 5,1 3.46GHz 12-core is barely ticking over with 5 layers of plugin slots full across 24 tracks, processing audio all the time. 8% total CPU usage.

I know we're a critical bunch here (myself especially) pointing out more and more details of things that need to be addressed, but seriously - Avid has knocked it out the park with this update.
Same machine here in my mix room. Thank you!!!!!!! I can't believe this 5.1 is over a decade old and still making me money. Lmao.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2021, 03:12 PM
tripmusic tripmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 17
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

Have you tried using CPUSetter? I've heard some MP 12 core users with PT, had better performance disabling hyperthreading and using only physical cores.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-28-2021, 03:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,139
Default Re: 2021.6 and High Sierra

2021.6 and High Sierra working just fine on the 2012 cheesegrater in my profile. Able to run lower buffers with this update. No gui problems like some on supported systems are reporting.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.6 with High Sierra 10.13.6 subwoof Post - Surround - Video 6 12-13-2021 07:23 PM
Pro Tools 2021 supported on High Sierra? innerbooty Pro Tools 6 04-14-2021 04:03 PM
High Memory Usage - PT 2021.3 Paulienat Pro Tools 14 04-08-2021 04:54 AM
How can I get High Sierra 10.13.6? SteveGarman macOS 6 08-04-2019 09:33 AM
Question: Sierra or High Sierra for PTHD 2018.3? johnnyv Pro Tools 2018 25 03-18-2018 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com