Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2021, 03:19 AM
johnadamian johnadamian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 14
Default Left side of clip snapping to grid

Hi there.

I'm sure this is some silly option I accidentally selected but I can't seem to come up with the right way to phrase the problem for my DuckDuckGo'ing to find an answer.

In grid mode, the left side (or start of) the clip is snapping to grid instead of the right side (end of). It's really messing up my workflow.

Has anyone encountered this before?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:21 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,106
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

I've only ever seen it snap the beginning of the clip to the grid. I've never heard of snapping the end to the grid. When I wish to do that, I snap a copy to the grid, use Snap to Next to move the original into place, then delete the copy.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2023.12 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.6.3 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2023.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2021, 09:04 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,389
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Of course clip starts is how snapping works. If you want to snap a clip end to a cursor location, ctl-cmd-click with the grabber tool will accomplish this. Read the Shortcuts PDF for more snap shortcuts.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
Mac Studio / Ventura, PT 2023.12.HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, 3xS1/Dock
Also running a Mac Studio Ultra / Ventura / HDX / MTRX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:30 PM
Verbcrunch Verbcrunch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston/CapeCod MA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

This is feature Avid inserted starting with ProTools 12.6 to deliberately trip us up and force us to work more slowly. Now instead of quickly editing your audio at lightning speed, you have to make sure you completely let go of the mouse before hitting "command" to cut, copy or paste. I've enjoyed a 30% reduction in editing speed because of this, having to hit "undo" every 10 seconds or so.

The workaround is to set your grid to "samples" and set it to a single sample, so when it unintentionally snaps to the grid it's just one sample. The irony here is if you actually do want to go back and forth between grid mode and slip mode, you now have to also switch to bars and beats and reset your grid value.

Some feature. I really wish Avid would allow us to disable snapping to grid while in slip mode.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2021, 09:27 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,155
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Why are you using "Command" to Cut, Copy or Paste? Turn on "Commands Focus Mode" and just use "X", "C" or "V". And with Commands Focus Mode turned on, you can use just "B" to Separate At Cursor.

BTW, the OP was not complaining about your concern. He wants to be able to "Snap" either the front OR back of a Clip to the Grid.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2021, 11:36 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnadamian View Post
In grid mode, the left side (or start of) the clip is snapping to grid instead of the right side (end of). It's really messing up my workflow.
Has anyone encountered this before?
Ever since pre-PT days. It's standard.
Is this a joke?
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2021, 06:58 AM
Verbcrunch Verbcrunch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boston/CapeCod MA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Why are you using "Command" to Cut, Copy or Paste? Turn on "Commands Focus Mode" and just use "X", "C" or "V". And with Commands Focus Mode turned on, you can use just "B" to Separate At Cursor.
I use the Focus mode to turn Groups on and off. So when editing I still have to hit "Command" to cut, copy, paste, undo, etc.

I also use ProTools to rename audio files in tandem with FTP and email software which all cut/paste still requires "command". It's more work to remember NOT to hit command even when Focus mode is on Commands.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
BTW, the OP was not complaining about your concern. He wants to be able to "Snap" either the front OR back of a Clip to the Grid.
Sorry about that..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2021, 10:55 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,106
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
If you want to snap a clip end to a cursor location, ctl-cmd-click with the grabber tool will accomplish this.
Thanks for noting this.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2023.12 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 13.6.3 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2023.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2021, 02:30 AM
johnadamian johnadamian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 14
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Ever since pre-PT days. It's standard.
Is this a joke?
Nope! Just a momentary lapse of sanity.

It was cured by remembering that shuffle mode will do what I want.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2021, 02:33 AM
johnadamian johnadamian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 14
Default Re: Left side of clip snapping to grid

Thanks for the discussion everyone.

I came out of my coma and realized that switching to shuffle mode will do what I want it to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standard Trim Clip moves remaining portion left on grid JimDC macOS 0 11-27-2018 05:28 AM
Short cut for snapping a clip YYR123 Pro Tools 11 2 01-29-2015 08:41 PM
Elastic audio without snapping to grid yeloop Pro Tools 11 4 08-04-2013 04:41 PM
Snapping to Grid RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-13-2009 07:02 PM
Snapping To Grid? skyman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-24-2005 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com