Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-26-2020, 06:10 AM
Swedish Swedish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 30
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmericoCot View Post
I've just installed Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 in MacOs 10.15.3, this issue have not been fixed in this version. I'm surprised that they resolved the "Bento error" but not this one.
This bug is still not fixed in 2020.9!

Kind of strange since they are fixing a lot of other issues with Import Session Data with pretty much every release.
Why not also fix this bug?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-26-2020, 06:13 AM
Swedish Swedish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 30
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedish View Post
This bug is still not fixed in 2020.9!

Kind of strange since they are fixing a lot of other issues with Import Session Data with pretty much every release.
Why not also fix this bug?

Also - perhaps a mod could move this thread to the "Pro Tools 2020" forum, since this is still very much a current issue?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-26-2020, 06:15 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,901
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

moved
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-26-2020, 01:15 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,326
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Have either of you tried a different method of simply opening the omf first? If that works, then you could save it as a PT session and run it that way, or once its saved(converted) to a PT session, maybe ISD would then work? Unfortunately, I have no omf's here to test so I can't say it WILL work, but its worth a try
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-27-2020, 01:34 AM
AmericoCot AmericoCot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 21
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedish View Post
This bug is still not fixed in 2020.9!

Kind of strange since they are fixing a lot of other issues with Import Session Data with pretty much every release.
Why not also fix this bug?

I'he started a "case" about this issue. They didn't know about this issue, I send a few OMF's with the description of the bug. After a few mails and tests Avid assigned a Bug number and pass the case to the engineering team. Here is a part of the Avid Cistomer Care answer:
"Thank you for your assistance and patience in helping us with this. Just a heads-up, we cannot promise an ETA for any type of fix. From this point on, we will need to leave it up to Engineering. Here is the bug number for reference if you want to followup in the future:
PT-264681"
So, we have to wait.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
-----------------------------
Sound Engineer at https://www.xeviestudi.cat
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-27-2020, 03:57 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 239
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

This bug is frustrating, if you import multiple AAFs/OMFs in one session.
We do this often, when production short format TV docs.

I hope it get's fixed soon.


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2024.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 12.7.4, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-27-2020, 10:51 AM
AmericoCot AmericoCot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 21
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Have either of you tried a different method of simply opening the omf first? If that works, then you could save it as a PT session and run it that way, or once its saved(converted) to a PT session, maybe ISD would then work? Unfortunately, I have no omf's here to test so I can't say it WILL work, but its worth a try

Something that works is to create individual sessions of
ProTools for each OMF, and then, import the ProTools Sessions with Import Session Data as you would do with OMFs. But you are doubling the job.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
-----------------------------
Sound Engineer at https://www.xeviestudi.cat
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-27-2020, 12:02 PM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 444
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

I first noticed this bug in 2018.something . I've only had it happen with OMFs from Avid. I don't think I've seen this the problem with OMFs from Premiere. I put in a ticket for it a while ago. As with so many things Protools, I've just changed my workflow to accommodate the bug.
__________________
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i9 9900, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2020.5

www.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-27-2020, 03:33 PM
Swedish Swedish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 30
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhumphries View Post
I first noticed this bug in 2018.something . I've only had it happen with OMFs from Avid. I don't think I've seen this the problem with OMFs from Premiere. I put in a ticket for it a while ago. As with so many things Protools, I've just changed my workflow to accommodate the bug.
I'm getting the bug here in omf's from Premiere all day, everyday!

I don't think the omf file or where it comes from is the problem.
The problem lies within the function"create new tracks".

If no new tracks needs to be created, matching tracks seem to work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-28-2020, 11:07 AM
rhumphries rhumphries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 444
Default Re: "Import Session Data" broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedish View Post
I'm getting the bug here in omf's from Premiere all day, everyday!

I don't think the omf file or where it comes from is the problem.
The problem lies within the function"create new tracks".

If no new tracks needs to be created, matching tracks seem to work fine.
Sorry to hear that. Well at least they are consistent now. Haha.

I agree that the problem happens when using "match tracks" but the omfs have different track counts.
__________________
•HD Native, Omni, BlackMagic Intensity, i9 9900, 32GB Ram, Windows 10 pro PT 2020.5

www.TakomaMedia.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot see entire "session data import page". LyricoEnginuity Pro Tools 11 2 04-20-2017 05:08 AM
Pro Tools not importing volume with "import session data" lapieuvre Pro Tools 12 4 10-16-2015 06:02 PM
"Import Session Data" Audio File Duplicates acstctws Pro Tools 10 1 03-01-2013 03:06 PM
Import session data... please break out "plug in settings" and "plug in automation" yeloocevad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-05-2011 01:04 PM
"Import Session Data" tempo issues GJV 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-08-2009 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com