Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:13 PM
Calex88 Calex88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Pro Tools will not Open a Session

One last problem.

I updated to PT 2018 and now when I go to one particular session, it simply will not open. I used to get an error, but it is not doing that anymore.

Just a small window flashes, but much too quickly to make it out and then nothing.

I have gone through optimization and can't seem to find any related posts.

Samsung ATIV Book 4 Windows 10 latest update Focusrite Scarlett Solo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:22 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

try opening with no plugins active. (hold shift while clicking open)

Or make a new session and use Import Session Data to bring in your tracks a few at a time until you find the culprit.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:34 PM
Calex88 Calex88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Thanks, I will look into that. Looks like my pic with the error did load the first time.

I hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PT error 2.jpg (45.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:48 PM
Calex88 Calex88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

None of these will open.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lame ex.jpg (50.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2018, 01:19 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 556
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Do you have Waves plugins in your session? Plugins that use their Artist Dlls? If you go into events and look at the error look at the faulting module. Paste your results here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2018, 02:17 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cypress Texas
Posts: 798
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

I'm on windows 7 so it may not help but after I updated to 2018 I had to re-install all my Waves plugins to get Pro Tools to start up properly. Try putting the waveshells in Unused plugin folder and opening see if that works. If it does than try the reinstall.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 64 Gig Memory:Seagate 2x 2TB, 4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 10 pro
PT 2023.3 Studio through an A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2018, 05:22 PM
Calex88 Calex88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnssn View Post
Do you have Waves plugins in your session? Plugins that use their Artist Dlls? If you go into events and look at the error look at the faulting module. Paste your results here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I don't have the waves plugins. It was a short track so I decided to redo it.

It is not quite the same, so if anyone figures it out, let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2018, 12:47 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
try opening with no plugins active. (hold shift while clicking open)

Or make a new session and use Import Session Data to bring in your tracks a few at a time until you find the culprit.
did you try these?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2018, 07:14 AM
Calex88 Calex88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
did you try these?
I did and I tried twice to post that nothing was opening, but they never made it up.

I have attached the pic of what I am trying to open.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lame ex.jpg (50.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2018, 07:21 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,629
Default Re: Pro Tools will not Open a Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calex88 View Post
I did and I tried twice to post that nothing was opening, but they never made it up.

I have attached the pic of what I am trying to open.
What happens when you create a new session and try to import a track from one of those sessions?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Pro Tools 9 session open in 11? Natanel Arnson Windows 3 10-22-2014 05:41 PM
Pro Tools 9 crashes every time I open a new session or import session data Ryan Butler macOS 14 03-23-2014 07:53 AM
Pro Tools 8 crashing when I try to open a session or start a new session AbstractHabitat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-25-2012 04:58 AM
pro tools 7.0 won't open session help please Malick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-09-2008 04:02 PM
I can't open my pro tools session aldeaproducciones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-09-2005 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com