Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-25-2017, 09:10 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,599
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Technically anything is possible but it would require a fair amount of work to achieve. At this point not likely, sorry.
Thus another start n stop directionless forgotten support of the Omni-idea.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-26-2017, 05:11 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 219
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post
I'm on a Win 10 PC running Nuendo 7.1. Was Studio Monitor Express ever something that worked on a PC platform? Does it even exist anymore? I'm using my Desk as my current audio interface. But if I go full ITB, I need to know how to get my MC Control to SEE my I/O and CR Configuration. I've got all of my Nuendo CR settings set up but, so far, I've got absolutely NOTHING showing up in my set up page that indicates that it is seeing it. Can you tell me how to set my unit up to work with pres, ADDA converter , a monitor controller & powered speakers?
I'm not clear on what you mean by "get my MC Control to SEE my I/O and CR Configuration"

What exactly are you trying to achieve? In Cubase/Nuendo, you can control all aspects of Control Room, (including volume). When assigned to Eucon, it's like having a fully featured hardware monitor controller.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-24-2017, 07:52 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-S-Q View Post
I'm not clear on what you mean by "get my MC Control to SEE my I/O and CR Configuration"

What exactly are you trying to achieve? In Cubase/Nuendo, you can control all aspects of Control Room, (including volume). When assigned to Eucon, it's like having a fully featured hardware monitor controller.
I mean that, when I open the setup page on my MC Control, it's blank! I thought whatever was set up in the CR Settings of the DAW would then show up in the setup page of the controller. Am I wrong about that?

As for what I'm trying to achieve, that's simple! I just want to be able to control the volume of a stereo pair of monitors and a 5.1 set of monitors from my Euphonix MC Control. My audio interface is my DA7 digital mixer via my RME 32 channel RayDat card.

When I turn the CR knob on the MC, the knob on Nuendo (I'm now on 8.0.1 with Eucon 3.6.1) turns but, that's it. There is zero control of the volume. I have to control all of that from my desk, which is now across the room after the remodel. So, as you can imagine, that's a real pain to have to constantly get up and cross the room just to control the volume.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-24-2017, 10:15 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Your issue is not with EUCON but how you have Nuendo setup. If the knob is turning in Nuendo you need to make sure you have its monitoring section setup the way you want it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-26-2017, 09:39 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Your issue is not with EUCON but how you have Nuendo setup. If the knob is turning in Nuendo you need to make sure you have its monitoring section setup the way you want it.
I got the knob WORKING!

The bad news is, it will not turn the output all the way down. It doesn't seem to get any lower than -40db.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-26-2017, 10:36 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Sounds like you are changing the Dim level not volume
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-26-2017, 11:32 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sounds like you are changing the Dim level not volume
The Dim light isn't on at all. I'm only moving the big red volume knob on the master output meter. I can get plenty of volume going up to +6! But when I turn it down to infinity, I'm still getting about -40, according to my desk's readout.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-26-2017, 12:02 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

These values come from the DAW so that's where I would look.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-26-2017, 02:41 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 523
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
These values come from the DAW so that's where I would look.
That volume readout is coming from my DA7 desk, not the DAW. The DAW is showing full signal, while the CR volume readout is infinity on the knob & the LEDs are dark.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-26-2017, 03:07 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Does the Monitor Control Room knob on the Artist Control do anything?

Sorry, you were talking about the knob on the MC in the previous post so though you still were.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Kyle: Monitor / Control Room Knob Anthony_Anz Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 15 07-20-2017 10:37 AM
Artict Control Monitor/Control Room Knob & HD Omni DAWgEAR Artist Series 4 07-07-2014 01:56 PM
Artist Control Monitor/Ctrl Room Volume Knob HowlingWolfStudio Artist Series 1 04-15-2014 11:10 PM
Anyway to get visual feedback for the Monitor/Control Room level on the Artist Contro Focuret Artist Series 0 11-19-2012 11:46 AM
Euphonix MC Control V2 - Control room knob PT9HD-HELP hugoleitao Artist Series 3 06-09-2012 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com