Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2016, 02:40 PM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 790
Default Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools? Offline. Cubase-Nuendo, this is very easy. One click on clip and request the measure. In one second we have the complete statistics. I have lots of plug-ins, some of them measuring the loudness, but in real time. I also Lm1n TC, but even "audio suite" measures only loudness and not ... 192 kHz ...
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2023.12 Studio, Nuendo 12, Samplitude Suite Pro X7, Wavelab 11, Dorico Pro 5, Melodyne studio 5.
  • Apollo X 16 and 7.1.4 studio (Focal Solo6 be, Sub, and Focal EVO)
  • Softube Console 1. UAD systems (USB3).
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra 2023. 2T. 128 Go. + 2X 4 T NVMe ext.
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

  • Roland V-Piano, Novation 88
  • Etc.
  • www.claudemarcbourget.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2016, 07:26 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

surprised no one's answered this;
audio suite gain will give you peak and rms...
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2016, 05:05 AM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 790
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
surprised no one's answered this;
audio suite gain will give you peak and rms...
e
I too am surprised, I thought I'd help. Thanks to you.

The following audio gain, in fact, can help, I do not remember. It is basic, but it definitely helps out.

For information, look the same function in Cubase (here in French and only text)

Title;Statistiques - "finale"
Date;jeudi 25 février 2016
Loudness_Value;-25.80 LUFS
Loudness_Range;17.95 LU
Max_True_Peak_Level;-11.19 dBTP
Max_Momentary_Loudness;-18.03 LUFS
Max_Short_Term_Loudness;-24.03 LUFS
Sample Rate;96.000 kHz
Average RMS (AES-17) Gauche;-40.28 dB
Average RMS (AES-17) Droite;-39.99 dB
Max. RMS Gauche;-20.11 dB
Max. RMS Droite;-19.73 dB
Max. RMS;-19.73 dB
Min. Sample Value Gauche;-11.79 dB
Min. Sample Value Droite;-11.19 dB
Max. Sample Value Gauche;-13.28 dB
Max. Sample Value Droite;-13.69 dB
Peak Amplitude Gauche;-11.79 dB
Peak Amplitude Droite;-11.19 dB
True Peak Gauche;-11.79 dB
True Peak Droite;-11.19 dB
DC Offset Gauche;-oo dB
DC Offset Droite;-oo dB
Resolution Gauche;32 Bit
Resolution Droite;32 Bit
Estimated Pitch Gauche;1305.9Hz/Mi5
Estimated Pitch Droite;1288.1Hz/Mi5
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2023.12 Studio, Nuendo 12, Samplitude Suite Pro X7, Wavelab 11, Dorico Pro 5, Melodyne studio 5.
  • Apollo X 16 and 7.1.4 studio (Focal Solo6 be, Sub, and Focal EVO)
  • Softube Console 1. UAD systems (USB3).
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra 2023. 2T. 128 Go. + 2X 4 T NVMe ext.
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

  • Roland V-Piano, Novation 88
  • Etc.
  • www.claudemarcbourget.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2016, 05:07 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

And the Avid Pro Limiter comes with an offline LUFS analyzer.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2016, 05:46 AM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 790
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
And the Avid Pro Limiter comes with an offline LUFS analyzer.
Thank you. Really expensive for non-hd.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2023.12 Studio, Nuendo 12, Samplitude Suite Pro X7, Wavelab 11, Dorico Pro 5, Melodyne studio 5.
  • Apollo X 16 and 7.1.4 studio (Focal Solo6 be, Sub, and Focal EVO)
  • Softube Console 1. UAD systems (USB3).
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra 2023. 2T. 128 Go. + 2X 4 T NVMe ext.
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

  • Roland V-Piano, Novation 88
  • Etc.
  • www.claudemarcbourget.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2016, 07:28 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
Thank you. Really expensive for non-hd.

Really nice to have however....


It would be nice to have avid include such info, standard of course
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2016, 03:43 PM
Knee_Deep_in_Music Knee_Deep_in_Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NYC
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Getting these statistics is crucial for a weekly summer project that we do for the same client every year. We recently switched over to Pro Tools and we didn't imagine we wouldn't be able to do this in Pro Tools. We've been using pro tools for a little while now, but we didn't realize this feature was missing until summer rolled around. It's amazing how you don't realize how important a small simple feature can be until you don't have it anymore! We had to go back to our old set up for this project.

There is a free way of getting these statistics if you don't have access to any other expensive DAWs or audio analysis software, but unfortunately it is outside of Pro Tools. I hope this is helpful if other people people are in such a situation.
Audacity can give you amplitude statistics if you install the ACX Check nyquist plugin. In Audacity, select the audio you want to analyze, then on the menu bar select Analyze>ACX Check.
The major disadvantage of this is if you are making constant edits to the audio file(s) in Pro Tools, you have to swap the files back and forth between programs. And if you want to playback in Audacity, I believe you have to close Pro Tools first because Pro Tools takes exclusive control of your audio drivers. So it works, but depending on what your needs are this can be a major pain in the *** solution.

The only way I have thought of getting amplitude statistics within pro tools is if you have have iZotope Rx v4 or later. You can use the RX Connect plugin, which will allow you to use the "waveform statistics" feature in the RX standalone application. While this is not truly "inside" pro tools, it allows you to use Pro tools I/O. I love iZotope RX, but unfortunately at home I only have access to RX2 at home, which does not have the "waveform statistics" feature. So I haven't tried using RX Connect, but in theory it should work and only minimally disrupt your workflow. There may be other expensive 3rd party options as well.

I have spent many frustrating hours trying to find a free or cheap plugin to allow pro tools to do this simple task, before I gave up and looked outside of pro tools. I found a bunch of free/cheap RTAs aax 64bit plugins that can give amplitude statistics in real time, but none which have a feature that can give statistics based on a selection not in real time. And I'm not going to buy anything pricey just to be able to do this.

If anybody knows of a plugin that can do this or a in the box Pro Tools solution, please let us know! I'll even take any VST plugin suggestions, which I can host in Reaper and use its ReWire plugin to get into Pro Tools.

Not knocking Audacity, but it is a little embarrassing to have to go to audacity to do something so simple because Pro Tools is incapable of doing this. Especially because most of Avid's competitors can already do this as a standard feature. I remember be able to do this in Adobe Audition v1.5, which was released in 2004!
__________________
Pro Tools 11
Windows 10 x64 Desktop PC with Intel i7-3770 CPU, 18GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2016, 05:05 AM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 790
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Using the plug-in "gain" in AudioSuite (Analyze). It is not complete, as in Cubase-Nuendo, but it's good for the peaks and RMS.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2023.12 Studio, Nuendo 12, Samplitude Suite Pro X7, Wavelab 11, Dorico Pro 5, Melodyne studio 5.
  • Apollo X 16 and 7.1.4 studio (Focal Solo6 be, Sub, and Focal EVO)
  • Softube Console 1. UAD systems (USB3).
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra 2023. 2T. 128 Go. + 2X 4 T NVMe ext.
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

  • Roland V-Piano, Novation 88
  • Etc.
  • www.claudemarcbourget.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2016, 05:50 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,390
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

One that I didn't mention originally, is audioleq
whose free version can do
Graph Peak Levels, Unweighted / A-Weighted L+R Leq
in a couple of seconds as well as batch processing.

there is also a version that does
Peak, RMS Unweighted / A-Weighted Histogram
and 2-Channel LKFS Loudness (RLB/R2LB), 44.1 to 384 kHz…
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2016, 05:58 AM
cmbourget's Avatar
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 790
Default Re: Please how to obtain statistics (peak, loudness, etc.) of a clip in Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
One that I didn't mention originally, is audioleq
whose free version can do
Graph Peak Levels, Unweighted / A-Weighted L+R Leq
in a couple of seconds as well as batch processing.

there is also a version that does
Peak, RMS Unweighted / A-Weighted Histogram
and 2-Channel LKFS Loudness (RLB/R2LB), 44.1 to 384 kHz…
e
Good. But just for MAC.
__________________
  • Pro Tools 2023.12 Studio, Nuendo 12, Samplitude Suite Pro X7, Wavelab 11, Dorico Pro 5, Melodyne studio 5.
  • Apollo X 16 and 7.1.4 studio (Focal Solo6 be, Sub, and Focal EVO)
  • Softube Console 1. UAD systems (USB3).
  • Mac Studio M2 Ultra 2023. 2T. 128 Go. + 2X 4 T NVMe ext.
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor 3.40 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

  • Roland V-Piano, Novation 88
  • Etc.
  • www.claudemarcbourget.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does one obtain Pro Tools HD? ianbee macOS 2 10-28-2013 06:56 PM
Signal peak/distortion/db meter peak when recording enabling track on Pro Tools LE 8 hotgravy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-30-2012 10:49 AM
CALM Acts Audio Loudness, Average Loudness, Program Loudness levels... help needed qr2r Post - Surround - Video 12 11-10-2011 01:41 AM
Q: If I recently purchased a Pro Tools LE software upgrade—how do I obtain Pro Tools dmm Pro Tools 9 0 11-12-2010 10:14 AM
Peak/Clip trouble Kdose 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-17-2010 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com