Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2010, 04:30 AM
Oli_W Oli_W is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Hi guys,

Can anyone advise whether or not this cheap computer on amazon would run PTLE 8.0.4 with Windows 7? Mbox2 Mini.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-EL1850-.../ref=de_a_smtd

Here's the specs:

Operating system: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Duo processor (up to 65 W)
Chipset: Intel® G41 Express Chipset
Memory: Up to 4 GB of DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM (dual-channel support on two DIMMs)
Hard drive: Serial ATA hard disk up to 750 GB
Hard drive: Serial ATA hard disk up to 750 GB
Optical drive: SuperMulti DVD-ROM
Graphics: Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator X4500
I/O ports: PCI Express® x16 slot, PCI Express® x2 slot, PCI™ x1 slot
Power supply: 250 W.



THANKS!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:24 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

No. It has integrated Graphics.

Integrated Graphics are not compatible with Pro Tools.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:27 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

stay away from G41, G31, G33 Express chipsets.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2010, 09:16 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Stay away from all OEM pc's.....
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2010, 11:49 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,331
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
Stay away from all OEM pc's.....
INDEED! Seriously, that's great advice. If you can't bring yourself to build one(which is the best route) the only "over the counter" system I would risk would be any that run an intel i7 cpu on an X58 chipset motherboard. Or buy a Mac.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:02 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
Stay away from all OEM pc's.....
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2010, 04:06 PM
shea shea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 517
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
Stay away from all OEM pc's.....

Big Time advice

shea
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2010, 05:21 PM
sonicapg sonicapg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 102
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oli_W View Post
Hi guys,

Can anyone advise whether or not this cheap computer on amazon would run PTLE 8.0.4 with Windows 7? Mbox2 Mini.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-EL1850-.../ref=de_a_smtd

Here's the specs:

Operating system: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Duo processor (up to 65 W)
Chipset: Intel® G41 Express Chipset
Memory: Up to 4 GB of DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM (dual-channel support on two DIMMs)
Hard drive: Serial ATA hard disk up to 750 GB
Hard drive: Serial ATA hard disk up to 750 GB
Optical drive: SuperMulti DVD-ROM
Graphics: Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator X4500
I/O ports: PCI Express® x16 slot, PCI Express® x2 slot, PCI™ x1 slot
Power supply: 250 W.



THANKS!
Before you buy something ,its a good idea to double check if its compatible with PT.Be VERY ,I repeat VERY carefull with chipset compatibilty.Power supply of 250W? if that's not an error is way too low.In general for the specific pc you mentioned ,MY view is crystal clear :NO .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:32 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

OEM manu's use crap motherboards, crap hard drives and especially crap memory. My reccomendation, build it. If you cant, go to an actual computer shop (not best buy or future shop) and have them build a system using retail parts. BTW, AMD phenom x6 processors are cheap and totally awesome.

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:56 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,980
Default Re: Would this PC from amazon run PTLE8?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
OEM manu's use crap motherboards, crap hard drives and especially crap memory. My reccomendation, build it. If you cant, go to an actual computer shop (not best buy or future shop) and have them build a system using retail parts. BTW, AMD phenom x6 processors are cheap and totally awesome.

Nick
hey have you personally used the 6 core AMD's? I was wondering how they stack up against the i7's since the i7's can handle 2 threads per core, so the PC will see 8 cores, while the AMD has 6 actual cores but only 1 thread per core. And of course neither can compair to the 6 core i7's.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better watch out Avid, Amazon is now producing HDX dr sound Post - Surround - Video 3 10-02-2013 12:33 PM
MCU Pro and PTLE8... help! cwhite771 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-05-2009 06:29 AM
PTLE8 and Mac Pro? kastadyne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-24-2008 10:03 AM
It might not be fresh news..Plug-in book at Amazon Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-03-2003 08:11 AM
OT: Am I the only one PO'd about CDNOW and Amazon merging? ecalcagnino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-10-2002 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com