Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2009, 01:19 AM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Tech Problem -> Output of PT Audio switching L & R before interface. Need help!

Hey,

So tonight I just noticed that the outputs of my master bus in PT are getting switched before they reach the D/A.

I hard panned a GIT Left and I heard it out of the right speaker. My first reaction was to check speaker cables, but it is definitely happening BEFORE it reaches the D/A as the meters read opposite. Pro Tools program is working fine in the mix window, as when I hard pan left the master meter reads left, but the interface reads right.

I checked the I/O screen and the matrix is set up correctly, with the Analog 1 being assigned mono left and the Analog 2 mono right.

As a quick fix I swapped the left and right in the matrix... but I don't like that solution. It shouldn't be like that. I reseated the interlink cables, reset all units and computer, but no change. I deleted all paths and imported my previously working matrix but no change.

If anyone has any input, I would be greatly appreciative. My quick fix is working but I don't like the idea that I should have to change that for every session and not have signal flow consistency.

Please help!!!

PT HD2 Accel PCIe 8.0.1. Apogee Rosetta 200 as D/A. All other signal flow is correct.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2009, 02:48 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,696
Default Re: Tech Problem -> Output of PT Audio switching L & R before interface. Need help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
Hey,

So tonight I just noticed that the outputs of my master bus in PT are getting switched before they reach the D/A.

I hard panned a GIT Left and I heard it out of the right speaker. My first reaction was to check speaker cables, but it is definitely happening BEFORE it reaches the D/A as the meters read opposite. Pro Tools program is working fine in the mix window, as when I hard pan left the master meter reads left, but the interface reads right.

I checked the I/O screen and the matrix is set up correctly, with the Analog 1 being assigned mono left and the Analog 2 mono right.

As a quick fix I swapped the left and right in the matrix... but I don't like that solution. It shouldn't be like that. I reseated the interlink cables, reset all units and computer, but no change. I deleted all paths and imported my previously working matrix but no change.

If anyone has any input, I would be greatly appreciative. My quick fix is working but I don't like the idea that I should have to change that for every session and not have signal flow consistency.

Please help!!!

PT HD2 Accel PCIe 8.0.1. Apogee Rosetta 200 as D/A. All other signal flow is correct.
most bizarre thing i have ever read about pro tools!!

What happens if you run another app with coreaudio driver? itunes for example.

TRash all prefs?

Reset the hardware setup and the i/o setup?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Interface need Audio Output through Internal Speakers wackjaw Getting Started 7 03-04-2014 03:24 AM
problem with sound output to interface/external speakers jessiful macOS 8 04-24-2013 01:34 PM
Eleven Rack: Headphone Output Impedance & Amp Output Tech Specs MR290378 Eleven Rack 12 11-29-2011 05:10 PM
192 Interface Output Problem roughmixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-01-2009 09:04 AM
No audio output from my midi interface - please help gab123 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 11-08-2007 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com