Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2024, 11:29 AM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phoenix or SLC
Posts: 556
Default Carbon Converter Delay

I'm trying to get some specs on the converter delay for Carbon (AD to Digital Out, and Digital In to the DA).

I'm using a Carbon in the Pre mode for some specific tasks and need to know how many samples the converter latency is.

Best I can tell, the AD is 8 samples at 48kHz, but I am hoping to get confirmation.

Ideally, the specs for both AD and DA at 44.1kHz, 48kHz, and 96kHz, but at minimum I need the delay specs for 48kHz for both AD and DA.

Hopefully someone has that info.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2024, 11:33 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 514
Default Re: Carbon Converter Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
I'm trying to get some specs on the converter delay for Carbon (AD to Digital Out, and Digital In to the DA).

I'm using a Carbon in the Pre mode for some specific tasks and need to know how many samples the converter latency is.

Best I can tell, the AD is 8 samples at 48kHz, but I am hoping to get confirmation.

Ideally, the specs for both AD and DA at 44.1kHz, 48kHz, and 96kHz, but at minimum I need the delay specs for 48kHz for both AD and DA.

Hopefully someone has that info.

Thanks!
Hi Matt!

Is this what you were referring to?
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-tools-carbon/specs
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2024, 01:27 AM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phoenix or SLC
Posts: 556
Default Re: Carbon Converter Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by tope d View Post
Hi Matt!

Is this what you were referring to?
https://www.avid.com/products/pro-tools-carbon/specs
Hi, no. Best I can tell, Carbon is 10.5 samples converter/routing delay at 48kHz on the AD side. No confirmation from AVID so far. This would be using Carbon in Carbon Pre mode, but the conversion delay should be the same into PT, it's just that PT will know and compensate for that already.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2024, 02:42 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,621
Default Re: Carbon Converter Delay

What interface do you have the Carbon (in Pre mode) connected to?

Do separate input and output latencies matter or just the RTL?

If you are using this for an analog inserts... then you can set up a TOSLINK loopback and send a click signal through that insert you can measure/null out the RTL with ADC +/- adjustment and then break that TOSLINK loopback and insert the Carbon into that. Then measure/null out that latency.

If whatever this is connected to has a mic or analog input and outputs then you do a click/clap test and just adjust measure the offsets, you can then record clicks out of the outputs i to one of the mics and measure their offsets. If you really want numbers you likely know the interface latency IO specs so can calculate the other.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2024, 05:53 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Phoenix or SLC
Posts: 556
Default Re: Carbon Converter Delay

Thanks, Darryl. I'm needing just the AD value for measurement purposes. I have a couple other converters that spec their latency, but they don't add up correctly (I suspect they're adding a few samples for routing the AD to the ADAT out that isn't included in their measurements. Because of that, I still don't have exact numbers. It's easy to get the RTL, of course, but I can't separate the AD from the DA and confirm the measurements.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon and Delay Compensation mnstudio Pro Tools | Carbon 15 05-21-2023 01:32 PM
Carbon Delay Comp with external hardware? tomhartman Pro Tools | Carbon 2 09-04-2021 08:41 AM
Sidechain delay compensation fixed for Carbon and Hybrid HDX 22002fede Pro Tools | Carbon 7 08-02-2021 11:51 PM
Avid Carbon sidechain delay compensation 22002fede Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 04-23-2021 05:15 PM
A/D Converter Delay the.engineer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 08-11-2014 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com