Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2024, 04:44 PM
asm's Avatar
asm asm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 92
Default Solved: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Is anyone using multiple Digilink expansion cards in a MTRX II and could you confirm if you are experiencing this issue?

In Pro Tools I/O Setup, the interfaces appear in the following order:

Digilink Main - Port 1
Digilink Main - Port 2
Digilink Card 2 - Port 1
Digilink Card 2 - Port 2
Digilink Card 1 - Port 1
Digilink Card 1 - Port 2

In DADman, in the Digilink tab, Card 1 and Card 2 are both set to emulate "Digilink Card" on both ports. Changing those to "MTRX 32x32" has no effect.

"Digilink Card 1" is in slot 1 of the MTRX II, ""Digilink Card 2" is in slot 2.

My HDX 3 system is connected as follows:

HDX1 Port 1-2 to Main Port 1-2
HDX2 Port 1-2 to Digilink Card 1 Port 1-2
HDX3 Port 1-2 to Digilink Card 2 Port 1-2
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2024-02-12 at 7.40.28 PM.jpg (11.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Andrew Mittelman
www.soundgeneration.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2024, 05:25 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Greetings,

When looking at the back of the MTRX II device card slots, are you justifying your cards on the far right?

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2024, 05:30 PM
asm's Avatar
asm asm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 92
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Yes, Slot 1 is on the right side of the MTRX II when looking at the back
__________________
Andrew Mittelman
www.soundgeneration.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2024, 05:49 PM
asm's Avatar
asm asm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 92
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Also, the interfaces are not labelled with consecutive letters, which I do not think I have seen before in Pro Tools.

When selecting "default" in the Output paths tab for I/O Setup, this is the result:

A Main: 1-32
C Main: 33-64
E Card 2: 1-32
G Card 2: 1-32
I Card 1: 1-32
K Card 1: 33-64
__________________
Andrew Mittelman
www.soundgeneration.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2024, 06:21 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

No, I'm not seeing that behavior here on a Mac Studio on macOS 13.x with a Sonnet Echo III, HDX3, MTRX II:

https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fo/f6en2...4ads3tf7y&dl=0

But, yes, the card labels should be as shown in the grabs:
A (B)
C (D)
E (F)
G (H)
I (J)
K (L)

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2024, 02:20 PM
asm's Avatar
asm asm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 92
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Doh! User error, of course. I confused the numbering of the digilink cables, which were out of order - not the cards.

Thanks, Jeff, for your quick response.

I am using the MTRX II via HDX and thunderbolt with a combination of Dante (to Eventide H9000), AES/EBU (various monitors and digital effects) and 64 analog I/O in DAD units connected via DADlink.

This is the most stable, efficient, excellent sounding as well as powerful/configurable/upgradeable system of I/O I have ever used with Pro Tools. Over the years I have used various incarnations of Apogee, Digidesign, Avid, Lavry, and Mytek converters.
__________________
Andrew Mittelman
www.soundgeneration.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2024, 02:21 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: MTRX II - Multiple Digilink cards, appear out of order in I/O setup

Glad to hear it!

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions
S6 FAQ
MTRX FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Monitor Setup - Dante and DigiLink to Same Monitor? jb_trm Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 8 12-28-2023 08:32 AM
MTRX Studio Dadman Can't Join Digilink 1 ch. 7-8 to DA whatfools Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 3 08-03-2023 10:40 AM
MTRX Studio on TB with DigiLink to interfaces? Novae Studios Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 6 07-19-2023 02:36 PM
MTRX DigiLink corp Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 4 01-21-2021 02:19 PM
MTRX hookup question, Dante vs Digilink SomeOtherGuy Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 26 01-03-2019 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com