Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > MBOX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2022, 11:11 AM
tomhartman tomhartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: boca raton, FL USA
Posts: 1,827
Default Mbox Studio FX?

I'm curious as to what PT plug ins are being used for reverb and perhaps compression for at least monitoring, say, a vocalist, while recording? I know Carbon had good sounds for this and wondered if it is similar.

Thx
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2022, 02:20 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,248
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

AFAIK, Carbon uses DSP plugins from the regular Pro Tools DSP plugins, while Mbox likely uses something proprietary(but I am happy to be corrected). I would start by watching as many tutorial and demo videos as you can find(at least until a user can chime in).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2022, 03:26 PM
JDubz70's Avatar
JDubz70 JDubz70 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

The MBOX Studio Reverb and Delay algorithms were pulled directly from our friends D-Verb and Mod Delay III. The EQ is new for MBOX Studio.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2022, 10:07 PM
BlackHat BlackHat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDubz70 View Post
The MBOX Studio Reverb and Delay algorithms were pulled directly from our friends D-Verb and Mod Delay III. The EQ is new for MBOX Studio.
Hi there. Any plans to add a compressor? Would certainly be nice (essential?) for vocals.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2022, 08:30 AM
JDubz70's Avatar
JDubz70 JDubz70 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 33
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

Not at this time. I know it's not the same thing you're asking about but we do have an analog soft limit circuit on the inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2022, 07:46 AM
neverager neverager is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: London
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

Yeah, it would be great to have a compressor as an FX plugin on the board, will help a lot with podcasting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2022, 06:59 AM
Ob1clyde Ob1clyde is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

Problem with FX solved by reading the first impressions post. Maybe a couple quick presets for vocals would be cool as i imagine thats what most would use the monitoring section for since there is no record option
. Thanks guys..

Last edited by Ob1clyde; 12-04-2022 at 07:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2024, 11:11 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,544
Default Re: Mbox Studio FX?

Lack of compressor actually stopped me buying this one for my bedroom. Such a shame. I'd rather have had native reverb since latency doesn't matter all that much (just make it a pre delay) and dsp compression along with the EQ.

This one was close, but not quite a cigar, as a stop gap for if they ever bring Carbon to Windows. Oh well.
__________________
- Intel 14700K/EK Nucleus CR360 cooler/64GB DDR5 6000 mhz/ Asrock Taichi Lite Z790/PNY Nvidia RTX 4080s/Win 11 Pro 23H2/Universal Apollo 8 x2 w TBolt 3 card u/g.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Studio Converters??? tomhartman MBOX Studio 61 01-02-2023 10:54 AM
Mbox 1 with Logic Studio 8 stevolution 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-08-2008 01:04 PM
Using Mbox 2 in FL Studio 8 Cid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-30-2008 08:24 PM
Studio setup with Mbox Sérgio Duarte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2002 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com