Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2023, 12:19 AM
WallofSound WallofSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arlov
Posts: 8
Default Pro Tools Perpetual code

Hello all!

Is it so that the Pro Tools Ultimate Perpetual Reinstatement code only works on an expired license?
If so, is there a downside to let your Pro Tools license expire?

The code for reinstatement was $100 less than the normal upgrade.
Never had my license expire, that why I ask.

...
Bought the code from a trusted reseller.
When I try to register it with Avid I get:
"You don't have any license on your account for upgrade by this code."

Guessing that's because my license is active :)
...

Cheers,
Anders
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-25-2023, 03:27 AM
tope d's Avatar
tope d tope d is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 521
Default Re: Pro Tools Perpetual code

Quote:
Originally Posted by WallofSound View Post
Hello all!

Is it so that the Pro Tools Ultimate Perpetual Reinstatement code only works on an expired license?
If so, is there a downside to let your Pro Tools license expire?

The code for reinstatement was $100 less than the normal upgrade.
Never had my license expire, that why I ask.

...
Bought the code from a trusted reseller.
When I try to register it with Avid I get:
"You don't have any license on your account for upgrade by this code."

Guessing that's because my license is active :)
...

Cheers,
Anders
Hi Anders!

Yes. Reinstatement codes will only work for Pro Tools Perpetual license with expired updates and support plan. If your plan is still active, a renewal code is enough to keep you up to fate. If not, then you’ll have to wait for your updates and support plan to end.

Hope this helps! Let us know if you have further questions.

Happy holidays!
__________________
-Tope

To create a support case with Avid Support, go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-music-support

www.topedomingo.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2024, 01:37 AM
WallofSound WallofSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arlov
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools Perpetual code

Quote:
Originally Posted by tope d View Post
Hi Anders!

Yes. Reinstatement codes will only work for Pro Tools Perpetual license with expired updates and support plan. If your plan is still active, a renewal code is enough to keep you up to fate. If not, then you’ll have to wait for your updates and support plan to end.

Hope this helps! Let us know if you have further questions.

Happy holidays!
Thank you for your fast reply.
Soory for my late response :)

Turned out it was a upgrade code after all.
Contacted the seller (store) and they guided me thought the process.
First time the suppled code and links didn't work for me.

Lets keep this post just in case others experience similar error.

This is what happened and how it was resolved.
1. I got myself a Perpetual one year update code
2. Used the supplied link and copy/paste the code
--> http://www.avid.com/redemption
3. Error message from the site "you don't have a license..."

The solution
1. Log in to my Avid account
--> https://my.avid.com/account/orientation
2. Click on my products
3. Select Pro Tools Ultimate and paste the code in the "Enter a code from reseller" box.

Kind Regards,
Anders
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2024, 07:28 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 402
Default Re: Pro Tools Perpetual code

Hi Anders,

That's what we call now, Pro Tools Perpetual Upgrade, it's a consolidated version of Pro Tools reinstatement and renewal, where there's no more higher price when you missed the 30 day grace period.

https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...ense-FAQs-2023
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-support/contact-audio-and-music-support
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Avid Pro Tools Ultimate Perpetual (FS/Trade Studio Perpetual) haydenmaringer Buy & Sell 5 02-14-2024 08:46 PM
Purchased Perpetual: No iLok license, no System ID, no Confirmation Code thecornubia Licensing & Accounts 3 07-26-2022 07:21 AM
Selling Pro Tools Ultimate Perpetual - Studio Sub or Perpetual? Chevron Pro Tools 10 05-03-2022 11:06 AM
I can't upgrade my PT HD 11 perpetual (code doesn't work) GonZo_ Licensing & Accounts 5 06-14-2021 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com