Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2020, 09:27 AM
[email protected] janetjmolina1@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Levittown, PR
Posts: 2
Default Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

I have "2" Studio Logic SL88 working independently as my controller for my instruments in Protools on 2 separate computers. In both independent setups with protools, When I record an instrument on protools, it sounds like it is recording correctly, but when I playback, I do not hear the sustain that I recorded the instrument. It sounds staccato, on both setups.

On both pianos:
I have the recommended studio logic pedal: VFP 1/10.
It is connected to pedal port 1.
The settings for the pedal 1, in the piano, is set to Damper. I have tried other settings for the pedal, but it does not change anything.

One of theses computers is the latest Mac mini model on one of the setups.

My protools version is 2018.3.0
Please help me get to start recording the proper recording on Protools. I can't get started to record anything with this problem. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE HELP. GREATLY APPRECIATED>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,901
Default Re: Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

Hi, welcome to the community.

You are probably experiencing MIDI Merge Bug there. Search for it, a lot of threads in the past
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:21 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

Just out of curiosity, do you have the pedal pressed before you click the transport to record or have the pedal pressed during a count off?
__________________
PT 2024.3 DP 11.31 VEP 7.x with various VIs
NI Komplete Audio 6 on HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
MOTU 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV on HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
MOTU M4 on MacBook Air M2 2023 Sonoma.4.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2020, 05:40 PM
[email protected] janetjmolina1@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Levittown, PR
Posts: 2
Default Re: Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

thank you for asking, but no
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2020, 04:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,139
Default Re: Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

In no particular order:
Your version of PT is not considered compatible with Mojave according to the compatibility chart. The last 'compatible' OSX would be High Sierra.

Get the free MIDI utility called snoize. Run it with PT shutdown and it will show you what the pedal is doing. I find the utility indispensible when trying to sort out MIDI issues. And for our Windows brethren there's MIDI-OX. If it shows the computer is receiving cc64 check the MIDI event list in PT and if it isn't see the next bit below.

Make sure that PT isn't filtering out the cc64 (that's sustain cc) message coming from your keyboards.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2023, 05:39 AM
Lydvigen Lydvigen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Location: Norway
Posts: 1
Default Re: Sustain Pedal Issue with Protools and studio logic SL88

The problem is on your keyboard. You must disable all the zones but one. The display on the keyboard should show only one of the four zones, the other 3 can be disabled via the controllers on the keyboard. This is all you have to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with mini grand and sustain pedal greenpasta Virtual Instruments 2 03-15-2018 12:08 AM
Protools 11 Midi Sustain Issue joshlmiller Pro Tools 11 4 06-10-2017 03:36 AM
mini grand & sustain pedal issue cplaza Virtual Instruments 6 09-27-2014 09:15 AM
Make my sustain pedal a kick pedal dr beef 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-11-2005 12:20 AM
Make my sustain pedal a kick pedal dr beef MIDI 0 05-08-2005 10:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com