Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-29-2023, 02:25 PM
nsureit nsureit is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 216
Default Re: Compression on tracks and then on Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupin View Post
actually the voice and instruments are good. it is the post processing I applied that kind of screwed it up and sometimes I don't even know how to undo it. For example on the first song recorded that I mentioned. I used Beat Detective and adjusted timings but it kind of shifts everything around like in a wave with flotsam and I don't necessarily like it. And, perhaps one of the tracks the amp that needs to be periodically charged was not strong enough and I am getting some distortion there. And somehow I had applied (unknowingly) some automation so I had to work on undoing it well you get the idea...just comedy central. Interestingly enough everyone likes the track lol but I hear and see the errors in there.

I use Focusrite 212, Shure SM58, Boss Compression CS-3 pedal that's about it ...
Don't use a compression pedal when recording, just use the mic and your interface preamp. You want a clean, un-effected recording (in my opinion). Compress it later in the mix.

Pro Tools creates backups for your session. Locate your session file folder "Session Name", find the subfolder named "Session File Backups", find the oldest backup file ["session name.bak.000.ptx]- this will be the original session/track, double click on it and Pro Tools will open the original session with the original track before you mixed it. Then, you can start over and mix your track from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2023, 04:44 AM
Lupin Lupin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Compression on tracks and then on Master

wowza. You are soo right. On voice recording the difference is remarkable. I swapped it right away. What type plugin compressor would you use on a ukulele (laugh away) ?

Thank You.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2023, 11:30 AM
Lupin Lupin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Compression on tracks and then on Master

Good point. Will do. Thank You.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nsureit View Post
Don't use a compression pedal when recording, just use the mic and your interface preamp. You want a clean, un-effected recording (in my opinion). Compress it later in the mix.

Pro Tools creates backups for your session. Locate your session file folder "Session Name", find the subfolder named "Session File Backups", find the oldest backup file ["session name.bak.000.ptx]- this will be the original session/track, double click on it and Pro Tools will open the original session with the original track before you mixed it. Then, you can start over and mix your track from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2023, 01:49 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,326
Default Re: Compression on tracks and then on Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupin View Post
wowza. You are soo right. On voice recording the difference is remarkable. I swapped it right away. What type plugin compressor would you use on a ukulele (laugh away) ?

Thank You.
Without knowing what plugins you have, I would start with BF76 at 4:1. Set the input so the GR meter deflects some of the time and set the output so your track meter shows just into the yellow. Experiment with attack and release(slower attack will let initial transients thru while faster will clamp down quicker). This is as basic as it gets, and a good way to get started I agree with others that a compressor stompbox is not the way to go
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-30-2023, 01:56 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,901
Default Re: Compression on tracks and then on Master

Ukulele has sharp transients, which you want to smooth to get the body sound more in-your-face.

Maybe the 1176 lookalike does the trick, but you can try the dyn3 as well -- just set attack to zero to begin with and keep experimenting.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compression on Master for tv series zzstation Post - Surround - Video 14 10-07-2011 02:46 AM
master compression skwad Tips & Tricks 16 05-02-2007 04:10 PM
Which plugin for Master Bus Compression ? seth666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2006 09:19 PM
Master Track Compression eldangeroso General Discussion 8 06-24-2004 06:45 AM
master compression ttyner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-06-2000 04:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com