Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2021, 09:36 AM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Hi everyone, this is actualy my first post here and thanks in advance for your atention.

I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5 in a Windows 7 Vaio Laptop with a firewire port conected to a Profire2626. But this Laptop´s firewire stopped working and isn´t worth fixing it.

So I got a new computer, a Ryzen 6 3600, with a Aorus B450 motherboard, GeForce 1660, Texas Firewire PCIex card, all running in Windows 10. The windows 10 recognizes the M-Audio interface perfectly. I´ve already instaled PACE too, no problems.

BUT, I am having problems instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered. It started normaly. But, at the time it asks to reboot, when the computer is starting again, It enters the security mode, and I have to restore the computer to an early point.

Any help???

Thanks in advance!
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,767
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2021, 11:37 AM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.

I read about a lot of people working with PT8 and Win10...
Maybe running in compatibility mode?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2021, 05:04 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,013
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CassianoMusicMan View Post
.... I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5
Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3 * SSL UC-1 * Digidesign Command 8 * TECH 21 SansAmp 2.0 * Xvive U3 2.4Ghz Wireless Microphone * Shure SM57 & Rode NT2-A * Fender 30 & Champ 12 valve amps * M-Audio Axiom Pro 49 * PreSonus Speakers & Monitor Station V2 * Lenovo W520 laptop Type 427637U (32 GB RAM) with extra-Ports Dock + SSDs: 2 @ Samsung T5 + 1 @ Samsung T7 * 3 Screens: 15.6” Laptop + 24” BENQ GL2450-B + Samsung 27” CT550 curved Monitor * best Wife!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2021, 05:11 PM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold

I’ll!!!
Thank’s a lot! I appreciate your help!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2021, 10:53 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

I'm sorry, but it will never work. Simple as that. You will be wasting your time. I'm with Cristopher, either you get current with PT or you might try to install Win7 on that PC. Win7/PT8 might work.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2022, 04:31 AM
potsy potsy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Hi there, I know this is an old thread but for future readers it's worth correcting the above. Those who say it will never work are wrong. I've been doing it since windows 10 came out. I have fresh installed a couple of times, most recently last weekend. PT8 goes fine on windows 10.

For the install I followed the instructions here from albee1952, which just boil down to don't turn your DIGI002 on until the 8.0.5 updater tells you to.
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365112
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2022, 05:55 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,013
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by potsy View Post
... PT8 goes fine on windows 10.

For the install I followed the instructions here from albee1952, which just boil down to don't turn your DIGI002 on until the 8.0.5 updater tells you to.
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=365112
Thanks for posting!

Did you use the Microsoft Media Creation Tool version 1909 - or did you use another version?
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3 * SSL UC-1 * Digidesign Command 8 * TECH 21 SansAmp 2.0 * Xvive U3 2.4Ghz Wireless Microphone * Shure SM57 & Rode NT2-A * Fender 30 & Champ 12 valve amps * M-Audio Axiom Pro 49 * PreSonus Speakers & Monitor Station V2 * Lenovo W520 laptop Type 427637U (32 GB RAM) with extra-Ports Dock + SSDs: 2 @ Samsung T5 + 1 @ Samsung T7 * 3 Screens: 15.6” Laptop + 24” BENQ GL2450-B + Samsung 27” CT550 curved Monitor * best Wife!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2023, 08:54 PM
wildschwein wildschwein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alkimos, Western Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

I have managed to install Protools 8 LE and upgrade it to 8.0.5 LE along with a USB Mbox2 on Windows 10 on multiple occasions. I can't speak for FireWire versions though and that will probably have more to do with hardware today than anything else. It works fine for me (although it's no longer my primary mode of recording) I can open and edit all my previous projects without any issues. I don't think I even chose the legacy install option when runnng the PT installer. Mac OSX was left behind in about 2013 and it hasn't worked with that since Lion or Mountain Lion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
instaling in win7 problem raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-10-2011 03:02 AM
Pro Tools 8 M Powered Windows XP Loading Problem scripturez Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 12-19-2010 08:01 PM
i cant pro tools 8 for my windows 7 64bit instaling korgic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-01-2010 11:20 PM
Problem instaling pro tools LE 8.0 C0mplX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-08-2009 09:16 AM
problem in instaling pt 7.4 raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 07-31-2008 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com