Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2001, 12:58 AM
Mark Haliday Mark Haliday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 770
Default Grid Offset feature request

There is one feature that I miss in most recording software including Pro Tools : being able to offset the bar/beat editing grid by a few ticks/ms/samples, without actually changing anything to the actual MIDI and audio position of things.
Why ?
In the real world, 99% of sounds actually start slightly before the beat. This means that when you do bar/beat based editing, you keep having to get back to slip mode to trim regions so as to recover the part of the attack of the sound that was clipped when separating on the beat : an incredible waste of time.
This is even true in MIDI when you play slow attack sounds. This problem is nothing new but I keep being amazed how most sequencing software seems to be running after 96/24 audio before solving this very simple problem.
Any support for this feature appreciated !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2024, 04:16 PM
natedawg3973 natedawg3973 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 6
Default Re: Grid Offset feature request

you're not alone! i wish i could do this to use it with music adjustments during sound designing ads
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2024, 07:47 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,330
Default Re: Grid Offset feature request

Have you looked at Midi Realtime Properties?
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help ! Selection from PT 11.1.2 is offset from the grid and waveforms Sonic Reducer Pro Tools 11 20 03-01-2014 10:17 AM
feature request for video offset via PCI output garnoil Post - Surround - Video 9 02-08-2013 03:13 AM
Feature request: relative grid lock mr.armadillo Post - Surround - Video 0 01-24-2007 02:11 PM
7.3 feature request! eastwestaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-06-2007 08:25 PM
Feature Request ZEUSS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 41 12-18-2004 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com