Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-21-2006, 01:14 PM

Default Mic directly into camera?

Hey guys,

Video newbie here. I'm shooting a 3 min short for a friend. For the sound, at first I was thinking of recording the audio separately (powerbook or DAT or something) and dealing with timecode and sync etc. But for convienence, I changed my mind to renting a camera with an XLR input and just using an existing mic on a boom and recording it all into the camera at once.

Do you think the sound would be alright if I had a 414 (tight cardoid) or a 421 or something going right in the camera? Or maybe even a couple of mics into a mixer and then summed into the camera?

Either using a Canon XL 2 or a Panasonic AG DVX 100

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Old 04-21-2006, 01:32 PM

Default Re: Mic directly into camera?

I would suggest a schoeps MK41 for close cueing interior shoots, 416 for outdoors. Sanken short shotgun mikes are great for over three feet cueing, like the css-3.
Old 04-21-2006, 01:36 PM

Hi there
It's more convenient to record to the camera, but I guarantee (from experience) that the sound will suffer, regardless of what the camera's audio specs are. IMHO, the camera's A/D convertors just aren't up to snuff. So, if at all possible, record to DAT, run a feed to the camera as a guide only, and mic with a shotgun such as a Sennheiser 416 or Neumann KMR 81.

Good luck, and have fun on the shoot!

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Old 04-21-2006, 01:51 PM

those camera's don't have digital ins do they?

becasue really good pre's and really good converters make a diffrence. sound devices makes great ones. deneke makes good ones i am told.

could use the apogee mini me.