Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2008, 10:02 PM
Edifice Edifice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Midi Quantizing!??

Ahhh i'm having problems quantizing my midi notes!.... I recorded my virtual instruments drum notes on a midi track and want to quantize those notes... It's not letting me for some reason.. it says "Bar | Beat Markers cannot be generated while in manual tempo mode"...... I don't want to set AUTO TEMPO because it'll make my drums at 120bpm and my sample is at 104bpm so it'll make my drums too fast..? anyone know a good strategy?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,063
Default Re: Midi Quantizing!??

Looking at the midi track piano roll, highlight all or whatever you want to quantize and then open the quantize window. If you are doing drums, you might want to work in sections and maybe highlight all the kick notes and quantize them(choosing how close to absolute can change the feel a lot). Maybe quantize the hat notes and them grab them all and (in slip mode) drag them a tad late. Experiment with this stuff and you can make fake drums sound quite good(and real). Just remember what a real drummer can and can't do.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2008, 05:42 AM
Edifice Edifice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Midi Quantizing!??

yea i got it down... its always nice moving your midi notes around... Thanks though
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Quantizing Help mushmouth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-23-2008 06:57 AM
Anybody Having Midi Quantizing Problems!! kerick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-22-2007 07:59 PM
Need Help Quantizing Midi on PT 7.1!!! dlinnov8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-18-2006 09:15 PM
Midi Quantizing in 6.4 le Cyco MIDI 6 08-30-2004 07:04 PM
Midi Quantizing with PT 5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-30-1999 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com