Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2021, 05:53 PM
soundartsonline soundartsonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: US
Posts: 163
Default Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Reverb, Eq, Delay?

What is the most conservative way to approach using plugins so you don't run out of resources?

Looking forward to your replies!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2021, 01:43 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 334
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

It depends on the actual plugin, not the type of plugin. I have limiters eating all my resources and limiters hardly using any. It's pretty much trial and error. Plugins needing more resources are generally reverbs, upmixers, AI powered tools, denoisers, etc. Plugins like dynamics, EQ, delay, generally take less resources. But again, all type of plugins come in all shape and sizes so it's really dependent on the plugin itself, not what type it is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2021, 07:42 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundartsonline View Post
...What is the most conservative way to approach using plugins so you don't run out of resources?...
Most of the stock AVID plugs are easy on the CPU.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2021, 10:25 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,047
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Most of the stock AVID plugs are easy on the CPU.
That is good to remember. Plus, many stock plugins will run with zero added latency(learning which can help you keep latency down for tracking, while still having good sound, which is especially helpful for headphone mixes).

Here are some plugins that are serious cpu hogs:
1-every amp simulation plugin
2-Izotope Ozone(a great plugin but forget about using it while tracking)
3-Melodyne(I tend to commit Melodyne edits as soon as I finish a track)
4-some convolution reverbs(but SPACE doesn't seem bad)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2021, 11:29 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,563
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

No plugin will run at ”zero” latency as thats an impossibility but ”some” of the boring stock plugins have a low latency.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:09 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,056
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
... boring stock plugins ...
stock plugs that I (sometimes) use:

trim
1 or 7-band eq
Pultec EQP1A (is that one stock?)
blk1176
gate
Dverb
delay
audiosuite gain, pitch, reverse, normalize
Xpand
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i9-11900K / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / 64GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / Intel i7 / HP ProBook / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo

Last edited by EGS; 07-27-2021 at 12:42 PM. Reason: added a couple
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2021, 06:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,047
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
No plugin will run at ”zero” latency as thats an impossibility but ”some” of the boring stock plugins have a low latency.

Sorry, but I believe you are mistaken. To prove it, I put up a track of music with no plugins. I duplicated the track and added a stock plugin that reports 0 latency and turned Delay Compensation off. No phasing of any kind. I then reversed polarity on the plugin and the pair of tracks null 100%. That tells me that the plugin in question(EQ3-7 band) does indeed run with zero latency. Back in the LE8 days, I also often used BF76 on a drum bus(fed by sends on the drum tracks). That plugin also reported zero samples of latency(and still does) and again, it never caused any phasing. I'm not offended if you can prove me wrong, but my evidence tells me that my assessment stands
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2021, 09:24 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,366
Default Re: Which plugins eat up the most resources?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Sorry, but I believe you are mistaken. To prove it, I put up a track of music with no plugins. I duplicated the track and added a stock plugin that reports 0 latency and turned Delay Compensation off. No phasing of any kind. I then reversed polarity on the plugin and the pair of tracks null 100%. That tells me that the plugin in question(EQ3-7 band) does indeed run with zero latency. Back in the LE8 days, I also often used BF76 on a drum bus(fed by sends on the drum tracks). That plugin also reported zero samples of latency(and still does) and again, it never caused any phasing. I'm not offended if you can prove me wrong, but my evidence tells me that my assessment stands

Yep.

Loads of plugins induce zero latency to the signal path.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running out of Juice - Native Plugins hogging resources ? Ed@bersey.com Windows 8 05-17-2012 08:37 PM
Out of CPU Resources erant1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-03-2007 05:10 AM
CPU Resources Dallas002 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-08-2006 08:43 AM
Help! DSP resources not enough! chanlon25 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 07-12-2005 09:03 AM
web resources badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-13-2002 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com