Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2015, 01:58 PM
MikeyB MikeyB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central Ohio, USA
Posts: 8
Default dig 002 - is it still viable?

I have a 002 mixer, MacBook Pro 2011 8,2 w/8GB RAM & external SSD.
Is there a simple list of compatibility information which doesn't require spending a week searching all of AVID? It seems I need a $200 LE to 12 upgrade, iLok, and a system downgrade to Lion. I need help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2015, 01:44 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: dig 002 - is it still viable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyB View Post
I have a 002 mixer, MacBook Pro 2011 8,2 w/8GB RAM & external SSD.
Is there a simple list of compatibility information which doesn't require spending a week searching all of AVID? It seems I need a $200 LE to 12 upgrade, iLok, and a system downgrade to Lion. I need help!
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyB View Post
I have a 002 mixer, MacBook Pro 2011 8,2 w/8GB RAM & external SSD.
Is there a simple list of compatibility information which doesn't require spending a week searching all of AVID? It seems I need a $200 LE to 12 upgrade, iLok, and a system downgrade to Lion. I need help!
Hey, it depends on what you wanna do finally.

Is your intention to only get some good quality simple music recording system which you are going to stay with, independent
from itīs age?
Then you only will have to downgrade your computer OS to Snow Leopard 10.6.8 (get the original 10.6.x disk from your 2011
MBP and update it to the max.)!

1) make a clean install of 10.6.x, update it to the max., finally install this one
https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1399?locale=de_DE
2) restart the computer and do all the optimization stuff (before installing PT)
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en349739
3) install the full version of Pro Tools LE 8.0.3, then instantly without opening Pro Tools before, the update Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
http://secure.digidesign.com/service...rticleId=43353

You did not write which version are LE you are using but LE 8.0.5 on Snow Leopard 10.6.8 with the 002 will be a very solid good
configuration indeed. You only need to have/to get an LE8 authorization code as you can just download both installers from the
link above.
Important-do NOT install any separate hardware driver for your 002 with this version of Pro Tools as this will mess up your system.
All hardware drivers were included in the LE8 installers already!
4) repair disk permissions:

Go to the Applications folder.
Go to the Utilities folder.
Double-click on Disk Utility.
Select the hard drive containing the boot volume.
Go to the 'First Aid' tab and select "Repair Disk Permissions"

then shut down your system completely once again, connect the 002 to your Macbook via Firewire, restart the computer and you
should be good to go actually.

Make sure to use a new high quality Firewire adapter cable with Firewire 400 on one side, Firewire 800 on the other one like such a
one to connect your 002.
http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-MacBook...ble+400+to+800


If on the other hand you want to have a current, fast, modern music recording system you will have to upgrade your LE to Pro Tools 12
for $199.-
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PT11LEup-e
get an iLok 2 for the Pro Tools 12 license for $49.-
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/iLok2
and finally get another audio interface because the 002 will not work with the latest versions of Mac OSX and Pro Tools anymore (no more
drivers available for OSX Yosemite neither for El Capitan).


Although the variant where you roll back to 10.6.8, keep your PTLE and the 002 will be a good solid solution I would rather recommend to
get the more modern solution because you have a computer (your model of Macbook) which will be perfect for the new Pro Tools 12...it has
an i7 Quad Core processor which is the best and the officially required processor type for PT12 and will guarantee a great performance finally.
Additionally this Macbook even offers a Thunderbolt port which will be great for modern audio interfaces or recent external high speed drives.

If you put in all available 16GB Ram and a SSD for your OS drive as well you would have a really high end, super fast computer which will be
working perfectly well with Pro Tools 12 and even future versions of Pro Tools.

This will be affordable yet high quality 16GB Ram for your MBP
http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-DDR3L-...cbook+pro+2011
and this will be a really good useable SSD for the OS drive for less money.
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-In...amsung+850+evo

So the most affordable yet decent quality audio interfaces would be these.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SaffPro24
http://us.focusrite.com/firewire-aud...re-pro-24?rd=1
(you can use this one on your Firewire port or via the Apple-to-Firewire-adapter on the Thunderbolt port)
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Clarett2Pre
http://us.focusrite.com/thunderbolt-...s/clarett-2pre
(thatīs a brand new Thunderbolt interface, super fast and future proof but still affordable)
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett2i2
http://us.focusrite.com/usb-audio-in...s/scarlett-2i2
(thatīs the most affordable yet good quality USB audio interface working well with Pro Tools)

For about $550.- (with the most affordable USB audio interface) you would get a really modern, fast recording system with the latest version
of Pro Tools 12 incl. 1 year updates+Avid support.

Btw for the LE-to-PT12-upgrade you will have to use the hardware serial number of your 002, not the authorization code of your Pro Tools LE.

Wishing you the very best!


Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2015, 12:53 PM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: dig 002 - is it still viable?

I'm in a similar boat as MikeyB except that I haven't purchased the MacBook Pro yet (set up in sig), and my 002 rig is up & running. But yeah, gathering compatibility info for an aging system has been tough.

I'm looking into a MacBook Pro for non-music portability reasons, but it would be great if it could double as my music CPU. There are some soft instruments I'd like that I'm not sure my current CPU can handle.

I'll be keeping an eye on this thread for more info. Thanks so far VRW.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2015, 04:49 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: dig 002 - is it still viable?

Mid-2012 Macbook Pro, OSX 10.8.5, Pro Tools 12.1, Digi 002 Console connected to an Apple display via thunderbolt, FW800->FW400 converter; running perfectly here!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2015, 07:58 PM
MikeyB MikeyB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Central Ohio, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: dig 002 - is it still viable?

Thanks VRW for the extensively researched info & advice. You are truly a person of exceptional fineness. I tried the downgrade, but the folks at Apple Computer have made it impossible to downgrade from El Capitan. I suspect one of the latest firmware updates hosed the works. I'm not an expert, but this wasn't my first rodeo either. I ended up installing Pro Tools First, and, to my surprise, my 002 came to life with no observable issues.

I've had this stuff for years, but was unable to invest the time to learn how to use it. My renewed interest is cos a friend has asked me to assist him in recording some demos of original material. I don't expect to get much more elaborate than 4 to five tracks.

My remaining questions are would it be advisable to upgrade my old LE (ver 7.1) to PT 12via the Sweetwater link in your previous message? Are there potential problems I just didn't see during my little test?
I set up a simple session with 4 tracks, recorded a direct input guitar, plugged in a mic, did some lousy singing, and lastly a harmony vocal. The first track was to be acoustic guitar, but I don't have strings on it. Everything seemed to work.

I think I'm gonna get the exchange. If it poops its pants I can always pick up an affordable interface box. This is all very interesting.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2015, 01:33 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: dig 002 - is it still viable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyB View Post
My remaining questions are would it be advisable to upgrade my old LE (ver 7.1) to PT 12via the Sweetwater link in your previous message? Are there potential problems I just didn't see during my little test?
I set up a simple session with 4 tracks, recorded a direct input guitar, plugged in a mic, did some lousy singing, and lastly a harmony vocal. The first track was to be acoustic guitar, but I don't have strings on it. Everything seemed to work.
At first thanks a lot for your kind words. Appreciate it a lot.

As for your question about the upgrade, yes, I definitely would recommend to go for the upgrade
just because after 31st Dec 2015 it will be pretty expensive to get a full version of Pro Tools you
will own (like the one you currently have).
With the upgrade you will get a full combi-license for Pro Tools 12, 11 and 10. Then you will receive
separate installers for all 3 versions of PT in your Avid account and you just can choose which version
to download, install and use.

As you are stuck with El Capitan now Pro Tools 12 will be the way to go only and even though you have
been one of the few lucky guys whose 002 seems to work on El Capitan too in a way, I would recommend
to replace it as soon as possible, just because itīs more kinda luck and sooner or later (by the next updates
of Mac OSX or Pro Tools) you will face troubles with this legacy box.

If you are on a tight budget those small Focusrite boxes are big bang for the buck. They offer even better
sound quality than the 002 for less money.
Me personally additionally use a Focusrite 2i2 with a MBP i7, Pro Tools 12.3.1 on Mac OSX El Capitan 10.11.2
without any issues.
My main audio interface is an UA Apollo but for some small mobile applications I use this little Focusrite box
successfully and have not been disappointed so far.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett2i2
http://global.focusrite.com/usb-audi...s/scarlett-2i2

If you need exactly the same connections and I/O stuff your 002 had, the larger Scarlett 18i8 or the top model
of the Scarlett range the 18i20 will be really great for the price.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett18i8
http://global.focusrite.com/usb-audi.../scarlett-18i8

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett18i20
http://global.focusrite.com/usb-audi...scarlett-18i20

Because you obviously still have a Firewire port on your Mac also the Saffire Pro 26 would be a very interesting
replacement for the 002
. It offers right the same features and stuff your 002 was equipped with for a really cool
price (and it sounds a lot better).
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SaffPro26
http://global.focusrite.com/firewire...saffire-pro-26

According to the Focusrite website all those boxes work well with El Capitan.
http://us.focusrite.com/answerbase/a...ith-el-capitan


There is the link to the LE-to-PT12-upgrade again. Donīt forget that you will need the hardware serial number
of your 002 for the upgrade, not the auth code of your PTLE software.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PT11LEup-e

You also will need this one for the new Pro Tools combi-license.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/iLok2

Further make sure to have a valid iLok account with a valid iLok ID still before you start the whole upgrade thing.
The hardware iLok itself will not be needed during the upgrade process as long as you have a working iLok account.
Avid will sent your new Pro Tools combi-license directly to your iLok account and you can transfer the license to your
hardware iLok later.

Your Macbook Pro should be absolutely fine for PT12 and one of those Focusrite interfaces for example.
I just would recommend to replace your OS drive with a faster one if you still have a 5400rpm HDD. The OS drive
is not that important like the Pro Tools session/audio drive (you use an external SSD which is perfect indeed!) still
will influence the overall performance of the whole system and Pro Tools.
The OS drive should be a 7200rpm HDD at least. This would be the best yet very affordable one.
http://www.amazon.com/Black-500GB-Pe...ital+black+2.5

This would be a really nice SSD option as well (Samsung 850 Evo 250GB for only $78.70)
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-In...amsung+Evo+850

I think if you mind to use the right/compatible versions of Mac OSX, drivers, software etc. and you donīt forget to
do all the optimization stuff for Pro Tools you should be fine.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...Optimize-10-10
(you can use those for El Capitan as well)

Finally let me briefly explain what you will get with the upgrade.
You will get a perpetual combi-license for Pro Tools 12, 11 and 10 (separate installers for all 3 in your Avid account)
you will own (for good).
Additionally you will get 1 year of updates/upgrades with the PT12 upgrade. This service/plan you will have to renew
after 1 year by paying another annual fee to receive further updates/upgrades.
However even if you decide NOT to pay the fee again (in a year) you still will be able to use your PT software (updated
to this particular point) further on, it will continue to work for good. You only wonīt receive further updates/upgrades
anymore. So the license and the update/upgrade-plan actually are two separate things.
The license/software you will own for good, the updates/upgrade-plan you will kinda "rent" for one year.
Whatīs new is the fact that even main upgrades from PT12 to PT13 for example will be included in the annual fee now.
No more extra upgrade costs from one main version of Pro Tools to another.

So I hope you will have all the info you will need.


Wishing you happy holidays!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 with New Mac (Mavericks) viable? jsbeeth macOS 1 12-06-2013 08:50 PM
G5 2.7 still viable for PT 7.4? cajonezzz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 05-01-2008 02:20 PM
M-Box 2 USB still viable? visualvideo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-30-2007 11:28 AM
HUI Still a Viable option? David Fisher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-06-2002 05:35 PM
is PT for NT a viable option? skid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 05-03-2000 09:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com