Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2012, 10:38 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

I've searched & read a few threads and I'm not getting this. I've done pieces of this separately with no problems, but using these techniques together is giving me trouble.

What I'm trying to do is parallel compress kick, snare & toms and route the entire kit (includes hats & cymbals) to a stereo aux so that I can control muting & volume of the entire kit all at once.

I've output the kick, snare & toms to 2 aux tracks for parallel compression. I've output those 2 aux tracks along with the rest of the kit to my drum bus aux. Of course I have some effects on the parallel compression tracks but I'm also Sending those to another effects bus.

Muting my drum bus aux doesn't mute the drums entirely. I still have audio from the effects send I'm bussing to. Am I doing something wrong or is what I'm attempting to do not possible?

Sorry if this is routing 101. Between being away for a couple of years & uptating to PT8, I'm behind the curve.

Thanks
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2012, 02:08 PM
weezamiah weezamiah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 100
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

if u check on u tube they have tons of video on the routing that would explain easier than me posting it. u can send signals anywhere you want to so its possible what ur trying to do . an solo safe all ur aux
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2012, 02:10 PM
weezamiah weezamiah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 100
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

and u only need really one aux to p/compress the drums
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:22 PM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezamiah View Post
if u check on u tube they have tons of video on the routing that would explain easier than me posting it. u can send signals anywhere you want to so its possible what ur trying to do . an solo safe all ur aux
I'll check them out. I think Solo Safe is what I'm missing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezamiah View Post
and u only need really one aux to p/compress the drums
Hmmm... Don't I need 1 for the crushed kit and another for the cleaner kit?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:46 PM
weezamiah weezamiah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 100
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

The unaffected can go to ur sub mix or anywhere else. If ur going to process more just go to another avail bus and repeat process. I have a submix and master in all my sessions.my drums are fed to a drum bus and p/drums which both dump into my submix which dumps into the master
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:05 PM
weezamiah weezamiah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 100
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

Smash the heck out of the p/drum on one bus and send the drum bus. So u hav a drum bus and a aux fir the p/drums
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:21 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

I've always used 2 aux tracks so that I could copy/disable the plugins to/on the clean kit to avoid phasing. Do you have a better way of dealing with this? Or are you on PT10?
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2012, 08:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,694
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

Phasing can be an issue, and you could use 2 AUX paths, with the same plugins on each(but in bypass mode on your "dry" path). I choose to simply pick a compressor plugin with 0 to 1 sample of latency so its not an issue. I route the drum tracks to the main outs as usual, and then add a send to all the "shell" tracks(kick, snare and toms). The sends feed a stereo AUX track with my compressor plugin. BF76 can do a decent job with zero latency(try the "all buttons in" mode). Lately I have been using Waves SSL bus comp with good results(it shows 1 sample of latency and I have not heard any phasing with this setup. Set the MIX window to show latency and see what's happening. Most "mastering" limiters(like Maxim or Waves L2) will have several thousand samples of latency
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2012, 06:11 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartFang View Post
This is the way to do it always when paralleling ITB regardless of whether delay comp is supposed to take care of it...1 or 2 samples makes a huge difference...do it this way!
I thought so.

I figured out my problem regarding not being able to completely control volume & mute with my drum master bus. I had the p/comp busses sending out to a tape saturation bus, routing audio outside of the drum sub mix.

Any way around this though without using groups? I won't be routing the drums to verbs, but for other sub mixes, how can I get around this issue? I'll want to use 1-2 reverbs for the entire mix, for example. Any way to send individual tracks to a verb bus but still be able to mute them with a sub mix master? I'd probably have to send from the sub mix master, right?

Actually, now that I think about it, I won't be able to do what I wanted. Without grouping the sub mix, I can't solo with the sub mix master.

I hate groups!
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2012, 11:40 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: Drum Bus/Group/Compression Routing Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartFang View Post
Vca
Watching a vid now, this seems like what I need. Too bad it's a Toolkit feature.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
group compression setup - webinar help Jeff Pelletier VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 02-07-2013 05:00 PM
Parallel Compression Routing Mack Truck macOS 10 02-06-2012 08:41 PM
Parallel Compression Routing and advice Raoul23 Tips & Tricks 9 02-11-2011 02:37 AM
routing aux and variable group kalunga VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 08-09-2007 11:34 PM
Group compression stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-21-2003 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com