Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 10-19-2021, 05:05 PM

Default Back to basics

Hello. I'm new to this forum. I've been recording at home for a few years now. I've been a musician for a long time, and my recordings of my music are very decent, both in writing, performing, and recording, BUT....
There seems to be an ingredient missing to approach professional quality of the recording itself.
I had a Grammy award nominee master a couple of my songs, and they sound better but not quite there yet. I hear tons of artists, on Soundcloud, for example; whose recordings sound excellent, and I refuse to think they all record in a professional studio. I have a fast Mac, pro tools, logic, Focusrite clarett 8pre.
I know it's a very general question, but I'm wondering if any of you with similar equipment are getting professional grade results. What am I doing wrong?
Thank you.
Old 10-19-2021, 05:14 PM

Default Re: Back to basics

Welcome to the forum. That's a broad question. It's an art & a science. Lots to learn. Hint: it's not all about the gear.
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Old 10-19-2021, 05:58 PM

Welcome to the community.

The general rule is the closer to the source you are, the greater are the benefits when you fix anything.

Meaning if you have a better song, it sounds great with crappy equipment. If you have a crappy song, it sounds crappy with better equipment.

But assuming you have a great song and great artist, I would put my money into one great mic and one great preamp. Southsidemusic could tell you how much it means, but having a great mic connected to a great preamp does the trick.