Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2016, 06:19 PM
Hitsoundtech Hitsoundtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Budapest
Posts: 22
Default S6L feature request/ question

Hi,

Several questions regarding the S6L user interface....

- is there any way to use spill+sends on fader mode combined fast from the universe view? (A different solution would be, that spill an Aux makes auto atically the send level on the fader and send pan on the encoder showing up instead of the ch fader level and ch pan for all of the channels, which are on in the particular aux)
SSL did it with his "Query" function quite clever, as you can set up independently what should happen if you spill (well, "query") the Aux, the Stems (kind of subgroup) and the VCA.

- Is there any way to switch to sends on fader mode for the auxes without soloing that particular aux? (Or even while soloing an another aux....??)


- any way to use sends on fader the other way around? Meaning, the faders showing me, into which Auxes the selected input is sent to... (Midas, X32. SSL, Yamaha does this and it is quite usefull)

All in all there is a need for "sends on fader" mode for all the input channels showing up, and also a different "sends on fader" mode, where only those input channels show up, which are switched on into the particular Aux. This together with the "reverse sends on fader" mode would ease the workflow for large IEM mixes extremely....


- any way to change/define the processing order in the signal chain for the input and the output channels? Most importantly the position of the plugins/ HW i sert points relative to the EQ, dynamics and pre or post Send postitions....

- sending mix busses back to mix busses would be just great!

- for custom layers it would be great to make it possible to operate like the "profile mode" meaning, that the left 16 faders and the right 8 faders could be used and banked separately from the main 8 faders. This way you could make custom layouts for your input and for your output faders and bank them separately

- similarly to the custom Layers, making custom rotary encoder layers would be great. In many different ways..... Here are really very large number of possibilities....

- on the touchscreens i can not switch on/off or jump to the ch inserts. Allowing this would be great. (With jumping to i mean, it could be still showing up on the external screen)

- the bottom row of the external screen shows the current value I am changing, whatever it is. It was also the case on the Profile/ SC48 consoles. Now however the numbers are so small, that you would need such a big screen to see it good enough, that it would shadow the PA system from your ears literally!!
Could it be made larger??


Thanks,

Tamas Tako
Hitsoundtech crew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2016, 04:41 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 266
Default Re: S6L feature request/ question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitsoundtech View Post
Hi,
- similarly to the custom Layers, making custom rotary encoder layers would be great. In many different ways..... Here are really very large number of possibilities....
FYI, one custom layer is available right now ("Channel").
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2016, 05:25 AM
Hitsoundtech Hitsoundtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Budapest
Posts: 22
Default Re: S6L feature request/ question

Thanks,

That is something I am aware of
But I mean also custom layout for the rotary encoders in the channel strip mode for example, and much more, as many people think many ways, so giving them the opportunity to customize the surface to their own kind of thinking/ workflow is something good I think

Thanks,

Tamas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2016, 10:13 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 283
Default Re: S6L feature request/ question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitsoundtech View Post
Hi,

Several questions regarding the S6L user interface....

- is there any way to use spill+sends on fader mode combined fast from the universe view? (A different solution would be, that spill an Aux makes auto atically the send level on the fader and send pan on the encoder showing up instead of the ch fader level and ch pan for all of the channels, which are on in the particular aux)
SSL did it with his "Query" function quite clever, as you can set up independently what should happen if you spill (well, "query") the Aux, the Stems (kind of subgroup) and the VCA.
You can use both together, its easiest to use the Universe to Cue each mix, and from the surface spill an Aux once, by double tapping the Attention Key. This will STAY in spill, and you can use the universe to navigate the auxes.

Quote:
- Is there any way to switch to sends on fader mode for the auxes without soloing that particular aux? (Or even while soloing an another aux....??)
Coming very soon.

Quote:
- any way to use sends on fader the other way around? Meaning, the faders showing me, into which Auxes the selected input is sent to... (Midas, X32. SSL, Yamaha does this and it is quite usefull)
Currently you can do this using knobs obviously, and you can do that WHILE in sends on faders on any given mix.

Quote:
All in all there is a need for "sends on fader" mode for all the input channels showing up, and also a different "sends on fader" mode, where only those input channels show up, which are switched on into the particular Aux. This together with the "reverse sends on fader" mode would ease the workflow for large IEM mixes extremely....
So unless I'm reading this wrong, this sounds like sends on faders, or sends on faders plus spill. Both are achievable now.


Quote:
- any way to change/define the processing order in the signal chain for the input and the output channels? Most importantly the position of the plugins/ HW i sert points relative to the EQ, dynamics and pre or post Send postitions....
This is fixed for now.

Quote:
- sending mix busses back to mix busses would be just great!
This has been discussed in another post, and it's something I would like to see, but only if delay compensation can be managed appropriately, as of right now, I haven't seen any other desk do this yet with proper delay compensation.

Quote:
- for custom layers it would be great to make it possible to operate like the "profile mode" meaning, that the left 16 faders and the right 8 faders could be used and banked separately from the main 8 faders. This way you could make custom layouts for your input and for your output faders and bank them separately
Definitely a neat idea!

Quote:
- similarly to the custom Layers, making custom rotary encoder layers would be great. In many different ways..... Here are really very large number of possibilities....
Already possible under CHANNEL.

Quote:
- on the touchscreens i can not switch on/off or jump to the ch inserts. Allowing this would be great. (With jumping to i mean, it could be still showing up on the external screen)
You would want touching the Inserts section to focus the External screen every time?

Quote:
- the bottom row of the external screen shows the current value I am changing, whatever it is. It was also the case on the Profile/ SC48 consoles. Now however the numbers are so small, that you would need such a big screen to see it good enough, that it would shadow the PA system from your ears literally!!
Could it be made larger??
How about just placing it on the MTS?
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2016, 10:44 AM
Hitsoundtech Hitsoundtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Budapest
Posts: 22
Default Re: S6L feature request/ question

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
You can use both together, its easiest to use the Universe to Cue each mix, and from the surface spill an Aux once, by double tapping the Attention Key. This will STAY in spill, and you can use the universe to navigate the auxes.


Coming very soon.
Perfect
Quote:

Currently you can do this using knobs obviously, and you can do that WHILE in sends on faders on any given mix.
Doing it on faders kinda fits for me better

Quote:

So unless I'm reading this wrong, this sounds like sends on faders, or sends on faders plus spill. Both are achievable now.
Yep, i just can not do it the way I did try, possibly I am missing some knowledge here. For example from the universe view or from the output layer I was not able to do the solo+spill function
Quote:



This is fixed for now.
Great

Quote:


This has been discussed in another post, and it's something I would like to see, but only if delay compensation can be managed appropriately, as of right now, I haven't seen any other desk do this yet with proper delay compensation.
I did already find a way to do that in S6L (see my other post)

Quote:
Definitely a neat idea!
Thanks
Quote:


Already possible under CHANNEL.
Yeah, but would be nice also in the Channel strip mode.
I would for example really like to se on the 4 rotaries gain, Comp threshold, Gate threshold and PAN when I am quiting from select
Quote:


You would want touching the Inserts section to focus the External screen every time?
If I have the overview of a channel on the touchscreen module, i can see the insert slots, but cant click on them. I just did think, that this could be changed.
Anyhow, see the plugin details like you see the EQ curve on the touchscreen could be also an option, and so you wouldnt need to focus on the extrelan screen...
Quote:

How about just placing it on the MTS?
That would be even better

Thanks,

Tamas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hybrid feature request plus question for other users zerocide Virtual Instruments 8 05-30-2008 01:03 PM
Feature Request+ question mark to 7.3 new features 25ghosts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 12-15-2006 01:00 PM
PT 6.1 feature request Rob Macomber Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 51 05-03-2003 11:11 AM
Feature Request Question... O.G. Killa General Discussion 4 10-22-2002 11:44 PM
Feature Request who 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-28-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com