Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2016, 05:07 AM
tim_mop1 tim_mop1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 2
Default Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Hi all

I'm having major issues trying to set up parallel compression in one of my sessions.

Delay compensation is on. Initially I had my track sent to the main out and used a send to get to a single aux track with my compressor on it. This caused all sorts of phasing with delay compensation both on and off, so I tried routing the track output to a bus, which went into two aux inputs, one with and one without a compressor. Now, this is where I'd expect delay compensation to sort out the problem, but it doesn't! The only way I can make it work properly is to have an identical compressor on the "dry" aux in and bypass it.

UPDATE: as I write this, I've closed and reopened PT and it all works as expected. Has anyone else experienced this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2016, 06:17 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,762
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

I'm on PT10, but that's how it works here too: turning delay compensation on or off requires that I close and reopen the session for it to take effect. But PT does this automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2016, 07:39 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

It's always work perfectly here, HD native PCI.

Sorry to hear you're having trouble with it.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2016, 06:16 AM
tim_mop1 tim_mop1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Hi all, thanks for your responses so far!

Quick update after some testing:

In this particular session I've been having all sorts of problems with the Delay Compensation engine, but the main occurrence is here:

I have a track (lets say stereo piano), who's output is routed to a bus. I have two aux sends receiving signal from this bus, one with a compressor (CLA76 in this case) and one without. The outputs of the aux channels are routed to the main output. Now, I have an identical send on the comp/dry channels going to another aux send, which has another compressor (VComp in this case), routed to the main output.

If I put the trim plugin on all the aux channels and bypass all other plugins (not make inactive, as the delay must still exist to test), flipping the phase on any of these channels should kill the signal.

This is what I have in my session, and I've made all other tracks inactive for now to test. When that is the case, this all works as expected. As I added in more and more tracks, and my CPU usage got higher, the piano suddenly appeared again, suggesting that the delay compensation had failed.

As it turns out, having the "ignore errors during playback/record" setting switched on means that when there is a CPU spike it tries to carry on and Delay Comp gets all confused. Untick that box and delay compensation works wonderfully, although I'm getting more CPU errors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2016, 10:59 PM
Keith Moore Keith Moore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_mop1 View Post
Hi all, thanks for your responses so far!

Quick update after some testing:

In this particular session I've been having all sorts of problems with the Delay Compensation engine, but the main occurrence is here:

I have a track (lets say stereo piano), who's output is routed to a bus. I have two aux sends receiving signal from this bus, one with a compressor (CLA76 in this case) and one without. The outputs of the aux channels are routed to the main output. Now, I have an identical send on the comp/dry channels going to another aux send, which has another compressor (VComp in this case), routed to the main output.

If I put the trim plugin on all the aux channels and bypass all other plugins (not make inactive, as the delay must still exist to test), flipping the phase on any of these channels should kill the signal.

This is what I have in my session, and I've made all other tracks inactive for now to test. When that is the case, this all works as expected. As I added in more and more tracks, and my CPU usage got higher, the piano suddenly appeared again, suggesting that the delay compensation had failed.

As it turns out, having the "ignore errors during playback/record" setting switched on means that when there is a CPU spike it tries to carry on and Delay Comp gets all confused. Untick that box and delay compensation works wonderfully, although I'm getting more CPU errors.
Having the same issue here. Sending vocals out 1 stereo aux send into 2 stereo aux returns (same input). Not all the time, but eventually it will fall out of phase. I have the "ignore CPU errors" box selected. I'm wondering if that is causing my issue.
__________________
Pro Tools HDX 2021.6.0
Lynx Aurora 16
Ross Martin PCM4222
Ross Martin Super Beast
Apple Mac Pro 8 Core 2.66Ghz 16GB RAM
OSX 10.14.6
http://www.keith-moore.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2016, 03:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,848
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Not sure if this applies, but double-busing(sending to an AUX track, and feeding that AUX track to another AUX track, will usually result in an ADC cluster^&*(. also, if you are not seeing the ADC numbers in your MIX window, go to VIEW>Mix Window Shows, and check Delay Compensation as sometimes you can see numbers that are wrong(and seeing them is the first step to figuring out why and how to fix).

I mention this as I have some sessions that were showing incorrect compensation of over 2000 samples, when there was no plugin showing more than 7 samples. In some cases, it turned out that I had a send on an AUX track which was feeding that same AUX track(albeit with the send fader all the way down). This confused PT and it added 2048 samples for no logical reason

Showing the compensation will also give you red indications if you are using a plugin that has more latency than the ADC function can compensate for(some mastering limiters have several thousand samples of latency, why may not matter on a master track, but can wreak havoc if used in a mix. FWIW, I use sends to feed drums to a stereo AUX for bus compression and have never heard any phasing at all(but the compressors I use there all report 0 latency anyway)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2016, 05:45 PM
davemartone's Avatar
davemartone davemartone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 150
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Not sure if this applies, but double-busing(sending to an AUX track, and feeding that AUX track to another AUX track, will usually result in an ADC cluster^&*(. also, if you are not seeing the ADC numbers in your MIX window, go to VIEW>Mix Window Shows, and check Delay Compensation as sometimes you can see numbers that are wrong(and seeing them is the first step to figuring out why and how to fix).

I mention this as I have some sessions that were showing incorrect compensation of over 2000 samples, when there was no plugin showing more than 7 samples. In some cases, it turned out that I had a send on an AUX track which was feeding that same AUX track(albeit with the send fader all the way down). This confused PT and it added 2048 samples for no logical reason

Showing the compensation will also give you red indications if you are using a plugin that has more latency than the ADC function can compensate for(some mastering limiters have several thousand samples of latency, why may not matter on a master track, but can wreak havoc if used in a mix. FWIW, I use sends to feed drums to a stereo AUX for bus compression and have never heard any phasing at all(but the compressors I use there all report 0 latency anyway)

Quick question.. I have a session set up... which I am getting some phasing going on.

I basically keep Delay Compensation on all the time during tracking/mixing.

When putting a simple stereo delay on an Aux Input track, and routing a mono track to that via a send, when raising the input I notice a definite phasing issue. I tried with any delay, even Avid Delay.

Any ideas what I might be doing wrong?

In the same session I do have a bunch of drums with parallel compression.
For the drums I have made a Drum Master Buss as well as a Parellell Compression Buss for Kick and Snare. Then I have grouped these 2 faders to a VCA Fader. I have no issues with Phasing on these... however as mentioned... phasing happens when just applying a simple delay from another aux track to a mono clip. Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2016, 02:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,423
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

If you think you have trouble with ADC, it's easy to check by instantiating 100% same plugins for both sides, then bypassing what you don't want to use. If it still sounds wonky, the root cause is somewhere else.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2016, 02:59 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Parallel Compression - Delay Compensation Error?

Last time I had issues with the ADC engine was with an older version of my Soundtoys plugins, but that doesn't seem to be the problem here.

FWIW...
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay compensation of I/O plug on parallel Auxes broken? bleen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 11-20-2013 06:15 PM
Aux to parallel compression sample delay ??? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-28-2008 05:23 AM
Parallel Compression in the box. FraserTSmith Tips & Tricks 8 05-04-2006 09:21 AM
Parallel Compression? SoundguyJP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-28-2006 06:38 PM
Parallel compression and 6.4 Aquarius Tips & Tricks 2 07-05-2004 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com