Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2012, 01:41 PM
Beng985's Avatar
Beng985 Beng985 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Slidell LA. USA
Posts: 3
Question Mixer vs Audio Interface

hello everyone,

I have a question I'm looking to build a studio with a Mac mini (specs at the bottom and I will upgrade to 8GB of RAM) and I want to do two things with the studio. First I want to record my DJ mix into pro tools and second be able to record vocal at the same time of the DJ mix or separate. My question is do I need a mixing board and a audio interface? I want to be able to control as much as I can and have great sound so can some one tell me why I need both or can I record a DJ mix and vocals ( up to 3 mic inputs too) with only one. and the mixing board and audio interface will be FireWire also.

Thank you


Mac specs
Mac Mini
Intel® Core™ i5 processor
3MB L3 cache and 2.5GHz processor speed.
4GB DDR3 memory
500GB hard drive (5400 rpm)
AMD Radeon HD 6630M graphics
Feature 256MB GDDR5 video memory[bleep]
Mac OS X Lion
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2012, 01:54 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mixer vs Audio Interface

You don't need a mixer.

A proper digital mixer would cost more than your Mac Mini and a nice interface combined, and would be overkill for what you are describing. It sounds like something along the lines of an Mbox Pro would be ideal for you.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2012, 02:47 PM
bacchus40 bacchus40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CANADA, west coast
Posts: 481
Default Re: Mixer vs Audio Interface

+1... you're talking one stereo track & one mono track!?...

interface... done
__________________
kickin' at the darkness 'till it bleeds daYlighT


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2012, 06:40 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,538
Default Re: Mixer vs Audio Interface

With that Mac Mini, you're going to want a separate 7200 rpm drive for recording. As to the mixer question, if you plan on recording from vinyl, you may want to use a DJ mixer to preamp the turntable(s) correctly before going into your interface(I second the Mbox Pro). Now the Mbox 2 Pro actually has a set of turntable RCA inputs, but I'm not sure that feature was kept on the newer generation 3 unit.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2012, 06:59 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Mixer vs Audio Interface

Why do you wanna do the vocals at the same time? This means you're gonna have to wear headphones the whole time if you want to avoid having harsh bleeding into your mix, and possible feedback.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2012, 11:18 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Mixer vs Audio Interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Now the Mbox 2 Pro actually has a set of turntable RCA inputs, but I'm not sure that feature was kept on the newer generation 3 unit.
The new one also has regular RCA inputs.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
advice about audio mixer stand alone, pt interface and lightpipe converter? alidav macOS 2 03-04-2014 08:31 AM
Mixer style audio interface jwilkers Pro Tools 10 8 09-22-2012 04:02 PM
Eucon control over M-Audio Profire DSP Mixer/Focusrite DSP Mixer? finkbmx Artist Series 1 12-26-2010 01:11 AM
Audio interface to analog mixer xterraguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2008 12:55 AM
888 audio interface and mixer question wild eyed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-25-2003 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com