Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-26-2006, 08:52 PM

Default Getting paid

now before i hear it from everyone...
im NOT in it for the money. recording and mixing is a HUGE passion of mine. if i could do this for free, i would. i get so much pleasure out of doing what i do. i love it.
but
i need gear. i need gear reeeaaally bad. i have been doing this for 2 years with an mbox. i track all my drums at my school. i want to get myself a 002r, octopre, and more mics (who doesnt want more mics???), but in order for that to happen, i need the cash. so i have recorded my band and all my friends acoustic things and what not. its given me great practice and publicity around here.
so now its time to make $ to gear up. only problem is, im a very passive guy. the customers i get are friends of friends, who then become my friends. now i love making new friends, but now they dont pay. for instance, i recorded this kid a few days ago. he did 4 songs and an instrumental thing. i mixed it all and they came out GREAT and i was very happy with the results. only problem is, i just met the kid the day he came to record, and he came with my good friend. the atmosphere was very friendly (which i love seeing as how it makes the performer very at ease), so i couldnt really ask for some type of compensation for doing his demo. also, as i said, im very passive, so i make for a bad business man.