Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2011, 03:45 PM
Timbo18 Timbo18 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 5
Default can't open 9.0.3 "selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized"

I have my 003 plugged in and drivers installed but I still get this message. Any ideas?


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Toshiba Satellite A505
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : TimMoore-PC
User : Tim Moore

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 330 @ 2.13GHz
Speed : 2.13GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Toshiba Portable PC
BIOS : INSYDE 1.40 08/31/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Toshiba Core (Arrandale) Mobile DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 34MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 533MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-G7 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-8500S DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-20 4-27-8-4)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-G7 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-8500S DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-20 4-27-8-4)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics (12 SM4.0 667MHz Turbo, 66MB DDR3 1GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Hitachi HTS545050B9A300 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 7MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
TI103272W0D (C:) : 454GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS545050B9A300 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 7MB Cache)
System : 1GB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633Y (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Toshiba HM55 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond WPCE775LA
Audio Device : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Toshiba PCIe SD/MMC Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : 22136 DC-1394 PCIe
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon Inkjet MP510 Printer (600x600, USB, Colour)
Printer : HP Deskjet D4100 series (600x600, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC (802.11g (ERP), TKIP, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : Off-Line
Battery No 1 : 61%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2011, 09:30 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,731
Default Re: can't open 9.0.3 "selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized"

Could be a problem with your firewire controller - either an incompatible chipset or driver. Try a different firewire driver such as the legacy one and see if that helps. Not sure what your firewire chipset is from the Sandra but a TI is what you need.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Rascal Audio Tonebuss 24
Slate Digital VRS8

Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P
i7 6700K 4.1 GHz
32GB DDR4
macOS 10.15.7
UAD-2 Octo Core PCIe
Pro Tools HD 2022.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2011, 08:51 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,874
Default Re: can't open 9.0.3 "selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized"

Try holding dow the "N" key when starting up Pro Tools. You should be able to select the 003 that way.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized..." error PResin Windows 12 06-07-2013 02:49 AM
The selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized... sneakyimp Windows 10 02-11-2012 11:10 AM
"ASIO Audio Device Could Not Be Initialized" Error during MP 9 Start up. Natronius Windows 6 01-25-2012 02:09 PM
A Year of Headaches - "The Selected Asio Device..." DoctorFills Pro Tools 9 2 10-07-2011 07:56 PM
Pro Tools 9.0.2 "the selectet ASIO audio device could not be initialized..." Teltarma Windows 12 05-26-2011 06:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com