Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2005, 05:57 AM
Lampdawg Lampdawg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7
Default Control 24 and LE 6.9

Hello all,
I was wondering if this is possible. can I use a control 24 with PT LE 6.9. I own a digi 002 but, I have a friend selling the control 24. Can I Firewire that Control 24 to my G5 and control my PT LE 5.9?
Thanks for your responses.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2005, 09:43 AM
tonicjeff tonicjeff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 and LE 6.9

Quote:
Hello all,
I was wondering if this is possible. can I use a control 24 with PT LE 6.9. I own a digi 002 but, I have a friend selling the control 24. Can I Firewire that Control 24 to my G5 and control my PT LE 5.9?
Thanks for your responses.

It connects to your computer via an ethernet cable, and yes you can use it with PT LE and digi 002
__________________
Intel Nehalem 8 Core 2.26 w/10 gigs of Ram
4 internal sata drives (1 terabyte)
Magma Pci to PCIe 6 slot chassis
PT 8cs3
HD 2 Accel
1 Process Card
UAD quad
PT 8.0.1 cs 1
OSX 10.5.8
Ctrl 24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:41 PM
Razorfish Razorfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: Control 24 and LE 6.9

I had thought that you can't use it with the 002, which already has an integral control surface, but that you can use it with the 002 rack. Not sure by the way the original post states the question, but remember that it is not a substitute for your interface. In other words, you can't ditch the 002 for the c-24. In fact, although there are 16 preamps, these do not interface directly with your computer but need to be patched through your interface.

The C-24 is a very complicated mouse, in my opinion. I've heard a few people say that they prefer working with the c-8, which is a scaled down version. Also, just so you are aware, the monitor outs are a bit more noisy than the 002 or c-8 for some reason. However, we've just bought one because there just isn't anything else in the price range that can do the things the c-24 can do. If we had had another £5k to play with, the D-Command would have been a much better choice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2005, 11:49 PM
tonicjeff tonicjeff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Control 24 and LE 6.9

Quote:
I had thought that you can't use it with the 002, which already has an integral control surface, but that you can use it with the 002 rack. Not sure by the way the original post states the question, but remember that it is not a substitute for your interface. In other words, you can't ditch the 002 for the c-24. In fact, although there are 16 preamps, these do not interface directly with your computer but need to be patched through your interface.

The C-24 is a very complicated mouse, in my opinion. I've heard a few people say that they prefer working with the c-8, which is a scaled down version. Also, just so you are aware, the monitor outs are a bit more noisy than the 002 or c-8 for some reason. However, we've just bought one because there just isn't anything else in the price range that can do the things the c-24 can do. If we had had another £5k to play with, the D-Command would have been a much better choice.

sorry about not clarifying that. It can be used with the 002R.. The rack version of the 002... That is what I assumed you were talking about..
__________________
Intel Nehalem 8 Core 2.26 w/10 gigs of Ram
4 internal sata drives (1 terabyte)
Magma Pci to PCIe 6 slot chassis
PT 8cs3
HD 2 Accel
1 Process Card
UAD quad
PT 8.0.1 cs 1
OSX 10.5.8
Ctrl 24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Digidesign Control|24 and Sterling Modular Desk Console for Control 24-Separate relaxo Buy & Sell 3 09-05-2013 07:05 AM
How to control plugins applied to audio files with Artist Control ozu Artist Series 3 04-01-2013 02:36 AM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com