Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-17-2013, 04:11 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 518
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by TieDyedDevil View Post
blewis, a quick question:

Do you ever run the XLR outputs of the Kemper into a mixing desk? If so, do you find that you need to set the Kemper's output level really low to keep the mixer's channel strips out of clipping?
I've never been asked to turn it down for a club. I usually run it about about 8/10.

Last time I was in the studio, the guy asked me to turn it way down: 5/10.

At my computer interface, I found myself doing fine at 8 or 9/10, but then I realized I had the 20db pad on.

They must be using a pad when we play live if they've never complained.

Brandon
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-17-2013, 06:47 PM
adamqlw adamqlw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 493
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
I've never been asked to turn it down for a club. I usually run it about about 8/10.

Last time I was in the studio, the guy asked me to turn it way down: 5/10.

At my computer interface, I found myself doing fine at 8 or 9/10, but then I realized I had the 20db pad on.

They must be using a pad when we play live if they've never complained.

Brandon
Would this not depend on whether the console had a line/instrument/mic level input?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-17-2013, 07:51 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Thanks, blewis.

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamqlw View Post
Would this not depend on whether the console had a line/instrument/mic level input?
That's why I asked. Occasionally you'll either run into a console that doesn't have a pad on the channel strip or a sound guy who'd prefer to not have line-level signals on the snake.

I have a 20 dB pad inline on my 11R setup; I'll probably do the same with the Kemper.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2013, 04:47 AM
blewis blewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 518
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Well... I haven't run into any issues that can't be solved with the volume knobs.

TDD, I had a look at the LF forum and saw the LF+Kemper videos. Looks really nice.

I've had my eye on a LF JR+ for a while now, but seeing these videos makes me worry that a LF 12+ might be a more future proof solution.

Even the LF 12+ is small compared to my GCP. I need something that sends MIDI note messages which the GCP doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:26 AM
AvidEditor AvidEditor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 184
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

There's no doubt I'll own a Kemper at some point. TTD had some features he was waiting for and I've had three features I must have; Rack mount, dedicated foot controller and looper. Granted, I imagine I could get by with my midi rocktron on the floor but when I go in the direction of Kemper I might sell my tube amp and therefore most of my pedals which means I'd sell my TC Flashback x4 which I love and depend on for one song our dive bar cover band covers. I need a looper and hauling around the rather largish Flashback to use with a Kemper would be ridiculous.

With my Kemper plans I'm depending on the fact a tech 21 power engine 60 (or some other relatively flat response combo) as my stage monitor would give me a tube vibe while playing - while concurrently running the Kemper to the PA/FOH.

I'll add the only reason I'd buy a Kemper is for recording. I don't need it for playing out, as a matter of fact I prefer a mic'd amp because it's the best of all worlds. Maybe with a Kemper live I'd just mic the Power Engine lol. Anyhow, the Kemper could add amp variety live - but more amp variety live is something I really don't need.

The one thing I'd depend on with the Kemper live is that instead of distortion pedals (both physical pedals in front of the Kemper and Distortion FX within Kemper) I'd dial in amp profiles that had the varying degrees of crunch and distortion (both on neck and bridge pickups) that I need gigging.

Last edited by AvidEditor; 06-22-2013 at 12:23 PM. Reason: Grammar
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:35 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
I've had my eye on a LF JR+ for a while now, but seeing these videos makes me worry that a LF 12+ might be a more future proof solution.
I was one of the early adopters of the 12+. IIUC, I have one of the first 100 production units.

I came across the LF+ while Googling for my "fantasy" controller that'd have per-button displays and lots of stateful programming capabilities. I was seriously at the point where I was either going to try to built something myself or find someone willing to design and build to my spec. Finding FAMC was a godsend. I have never been happier with a product.

The 12+ is, IMO, pretty much the sweet spot. IMO, going to the JR+ doesn't save enough space to justify the loss of switches, and the Pro+ is too big for my needs.

I take full advantage of the pages functionality. With my current programming, I have nearly 60 IAs in use. I haven't yet delved into the new software that supports up to 180 IAs.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:41 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidEditor View Post
... I've had three features I must have; Rack mount, dedicated foot controller and looper.
I'm a fan of loopers. For me, the "gold standard" is the full-blown Boomerang III rig: the III, the Sidecar and the Wholly Roller.

I have a Looperlative LP1 in my Eleven Rack rig. It's pretty good, but there are some issues regarding loop quality and noise floor.

For the KPA rig, I'll probably just wait until they implement a looper. If that's not enough, I can always run a Boomerang III package in the KPA's loop.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-24-2013, 07:29 AM
AvidEditor AvidEditor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 184
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by TieDyedDevil View Post
I'm a fan of loopers. For me, the "gold standard" is the full-blown Boomerang III rig: the III, the Sidecar and the Wholly Roller.

I have a Looperlative LP1 in my Eleven Rack rig. It's pretty good, but there are some issues regarding loop quality and noise floor.

For the KPA rig, I'll probably just wait until they implement a looper. If that's not enough, I can always run a Boomerang III package in the KPA's loop.
I'm also a fan of looping. Our drummer refers to looping live as in the same classification as lip syncing. I think he's only half kidding - I can see that it's "cheating" but I only need it to cover rhythm for a solo in one song, is looping a big sin? Interesting subject actually.

I'm still looking forward vicariously for TDD to get his Kemper!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-24-2013, 04:38 PM
TieDyedDevil TieDyedDevil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 502
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by AvidEditor View Post
I'm also a fan of looping. Our drummer refers to looping live as in the same classification as lip syncing. I think he's only half kidding - I can see that it's "cheating" but I only need it to cover rhythm for a solo in one song, is looping a big sin? Interesting subject actually.
I've heard some really creative uses of live looping. One of my favorites is the way Jim Thomas of The Mermen uses it to build intros for their tunes. It's almost unnoticeable until you suddenly have to ask yourself: "Hey, where did those three other guitar parts come from?"

Quote:
I'm still looking forward vicariously for TDD to get his Kemper!
Me, too. I decided to order through the local dealer rather than Sweetwater, so I'm looking at a mid-July delivery.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:23 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 518
Default Re: I might be adding another modeler soon

TDD, I have a question about the liquid foot.

In Song Mode, it looks like I can program 24 presets per song.

Let's say I have a Song with Presets 1, 12, 48, 9 and I have Song programmed to start with Preset 1.

Assuming, for each Preset, I have a button programmed with Preset Up Function. (Which I believe I would ensure via Page programming):

Will the Preset Up function increment through Presets 1, 12, 48, 9 (the presets associated with this Song) or will it cause an increment of Presets 1, 2, 3, 4.

The Function Preset Up mentions that it works in Preset/Direct mode which makes me suspicious it might not work in Song mode as I would like.

Basically trying to build a "Performance Mode" into the controller to minimize buttons needed to switch Presets.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mic Modeler in PT8 Choral14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-29-2009 07:44 AM
best amp modeler Brain Digger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 05-23-2005 04:03 AM
Mic Modeler... DJBorrmann Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-13-2002 10:43 AM
Mic Modeler for PTLE PC citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-22-2002 04:33 PM
Mic Modeler For PC dmax1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-20-2001 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com