Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Dev > Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2023, 11:41 PM
Butters Butters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Stockton
Posts: 2
Default How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

I'm brand new to RPC in general, so I don't know how to use the sdk to process commands with the software. Can someone point me in the right direction in terms of how I can make my app use the sdk to process commands? I must build it first? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2023, 10:27 AM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 74
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

Hello,

Yes, the Pro Tools Scripting SDK works with all levels of Pro Tools including Pro Tools Intro.

If you are creating a client app using C++ then you can use the Pro Tools Scripting SDK's included C++ Client Wrapper, which will provide a C++ interface for all of the RPC with Pro Tools. Look at the CppPTSLClient class in the SDK for details about this interface.

To build the C++ Client Wrapper, use the build_cpp_ptsl_sdk.py build script as described in the main page of the SDK documentation.

The SDK includes an example C++ client application, ptslcmd, which you can reference to see how a client interacts with the C++ Client Wrapper.

If you are using a client written in a different language then you will need to interact more directly with the RPC system. The Pro Tools Scripting SDK uses gRPC, and any language that is supported by gRPC and Google Protocol Buffers may be used. The PTSL.proto file contains the specification for the Pro Tools Scripting SDK client communication with Pro Tools.

I hope this helps,
Rob
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2023, 01:56 AM
Butters Butters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2023
Location: Stockton
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmajors View Post
Hello,

Yes, the Pro Tools Scripting SDK works with all levels of Pro Tools including Pro Tools Intro.

If you are creating a client app using C++ then you can use the Pro Tools Scripting SDK's included C++ Client Wrapper, which will provide a C++ interface for all of the RPC with Pro Tools. Look at the CppPTSLClient class in the SDK for details about this interface.

To build the C++ Client Wrapper, use the build_cpp_ptsl_sdk.py build script as described in the main page of the SDK documentation.

The SDK includes an example C++ client application, ptslcmd, which you can reference to see how a client interacts with the C++ Client Wrapper.

If you are using a client written in a different language then you will need to interact more directly with the RPC system. The Pro Tools Scripting SDK uses gRPC, and any language that is supported by gRPC and Google Protocol Buffers may be used. The PTSL.proto file contains the specification for the Pro Tools Scripting SDK client communication with Pro Tools.

I hope this helps,
Rob
Would you mind showing a brief example using nodejs? I plan on interacting with the sdk in an electron desktop app. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2023, 07:09 AM
rmajors's Avatar
rmajors rmajors is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WA
Posts: 74
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

We're looking into providing an example in a future release, though this will not be ready in time for the next update. The example would demonstrate sending and receiving requests between a JavaScript client and the PTSL server in Pro Tools using Google protocol buffers / gRPC.



In the meantime, this project looks like the most mature implementation of protocol buffers for JavaScript currently available, and our future implementation would likely use this or something very similar:



https://github.com/protobufjs/protobuf.js
__________________
Rob Majors
Avid Software Engineering
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2023, 06:55 PM
JamieHardt JamieHardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butters View Post
Would you mind showing a brief example using nodejs? I plan on interacting with the sdk in an electron desktop app. Thank you.
Butters if it'd help I'm happy to give you access to my py-ptsl repository on GitHub, it's a clean reimplementation of the PTSL client in Python so if you can read that it'll give you an idea how protobuf and grpc works.
__________________
___
Jamie Hardt MPSE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.0
Mac OS X 12.6.2
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2023, 07:29 PM
John Roberts John Roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Soundbyte Studios
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

Hi Jamie, would you be willing to share this repository with me? I am looking to create some clip name request commands and would love to see some existing working examples.

following this C++ client wrapper directions does not work and there is no walk thru.

(To build the C++ Client Wrapper, use the build_cpp_ptsl_sdk.py build script as described in the main page of the SDK documentation.
)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2023, 09:47 AM
JamieHardt JamieHardt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default Re: How to use SDK with Pro Tools Intro

I went through the repository today and deleted all of the files from Avid that I'm not allowed to distribute, so now I can make it public.

https://github.com/iluvcapra/py-ptsl

You can see my rename clip operation in the engine at

https://github.com/iluvcapra/py-ptsl...engine.py#L371

Though that probably won't reveal much, all it does is call the auto-generated protobuf and grpc code.
__________________
___
Jamie Hardt MPSE
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12.0
Mac OS X 12.6.2
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools artist when online. Pro tools intro when offline Spikerama Pro Tools 2 04-07-2023 06:34 PM
Pro Tools Intro - No Sound legacygt777 Pro Tools | Intro Discussion 2 04-02-2023 01:48 PM
USB Mic(s) with Pro Tools Intro 2022.12? Gallawagga Pro Tools 0 03-24-2023 10:32 PM
Pro Tools Intro (free) noiseboyuk Pro Tools 37 12-21-2022 10:57 AM
Guitar Rig 6 And Pro tools Intro GCGPT Virtual Instruments 7 11-05-2022 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com