Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2010, 08:56 PM
daviemac daviemac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 7
Default Streaming video/audio via Ustream.com with Pro Tools

I'm so amazed by the sounds I get playing on Pro Tools. It's like, I don't wanna just record and mix, I wanna play live with it! Using Reverb Inserts on the mic, playing some of the virtual instruments it comes with, I'm just lovin it.

I'm having a hard time though figuring out how to stream via ustream what I play and sing. I've set the MBox DigiDesign option on the site, I get the mic sound broadcasting, but without effects, the Reverb Insert I'm using on PT. And I can't get broadcasting what I'm playing with the midi controller, even though I hear it thru my in ear monitors, plugged in my mBox.

Is there a way to stream via ustream what I get to hear in my earphones? Mic with FXs and the virtual instrument I'm playing with midi controller?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:43 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Streaming video/audio via Ustream.com with Pro Tools

There are several ways to get this to work, probably the easiest is to take the headphone output or main outs and connect them to the built-in audio input on your computer, then select 'Built In' for the audio option on Ustream.

You could also use a number of different apps that will route the output of Pro Tools through as a 'node' to your computers Audio MIDI Setup pane - Jack, Soundflower, etc. They require some knowledge about how they work, as well as a bit more setup though. The first solution is probably the easiest.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 12:42 PM
daviemac daviemac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Streaming video/audio via Ustream.com with Pro Tools

Very helpful tip! I appreciated it, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:22 PM
daviemac daviemac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Streaming video/audio via Ustream.com with Pro Tools

Man, I've tried the second option you gave.
I couldn't figure out how to make Soundflower work so
then, I've tried the first and easy one.
I just bought this: Livewire Stereo 3.5MM (M) to TWO 1/4" (M) cable
did just what you said... either way, I couldn't make it work.

I'm a newbie so, I'm gonna ask this even if it sounds dumb:
Is it possible that I have fried the built-in audio input on my Mac?
I'm asking because I've never used before. The very first time was
just now, trying to get the sound of this mBox to the mac input and
try to stream it. Since I was at it, I tried a different mic into the
built-in input and it didn't work either! I don't know if this input is
fried or I need a special mic for it or if I need different cables.

I know I'm getting no sound through, though.

I have a Mac OS X 10.5.8 - 2.93 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB DDR3
I bought it last year.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools training via streaming video & digital downloads SupreGlu Training 0 07-26-2013 09:02 PM
Streaming live audio from Pro Tools for Web? rojc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-24-2009 01:38 AM
NI Audio Kontrol One leaves Pro Tools audio streaming numb! Logic Pro Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 04-10-2007 06:17 PM
No Streaming Audio with Pro Tools? Stixntrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-11-2007 10:32 AM
No Streaming Audio with Pro Tools? Stixntrixx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-05-2007 10:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com