Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2006, 09:01 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,982
Default >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

Any suggestions on 8 input mic-pres I should look at for around $400/input. Purpose is both studio and live remote recording. . . a little color is ok, but transparency is more important/required. Some models I am aware of:

Millennia HDV-3D http://www.mil-media.com/docs/products/hv3d.shtml
I already have one and like it a lot except I find it has too-much-gain for certain inputs (certain drum/mic combos) so I sometimes need in-line pads, plus the attenuator is stepped so you can not ride it while recording. Not great for on-the-fly live remotes.

True Systems Precission 8 http://www.true-systems.com/
Too much Gain for certain sources so in-line pads are required for certain inputs, again not great for on-the-fly-stuff. Otherwise seems to be good Value.

2 x Focusrite ISA 428 http://www.focusrite.com/productdeta...id=34&iRange=2
Have one, I like it a lot, tons of features and sounds great as well. A/D feature is cool (not sure if the ADC is in the same league as the 192 I/Os A/Ds). Takes up a lot of rack space, but leaning this way because it seems to be great value.

Digi's Pre - Tried one, it seems fine. . . not sure more Digi stuff in the rack is the right answer.

Universal Audio 8110 http://www.uaudio.com/products/analog/8110/index.html
Looks great, never used one. A little pricey for my purpose.

Yamaha MLA8 - Never tried it, don't know.
Focusrite OctaPre, Presonus Digimax, Mackie Onyx - Don't think these are 100% up to the job for one reason or another.

What others should I be looking at in around $400/input or less?
__________________
...for system configuration info see my profile
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:42 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 723
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

to be honest i have digimax 96...i find i use it a lot..very transparent..clocked with a big ben.the digital outputs (aes)are very clean and neutral..for the money...it's great.
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:00 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

well, all I can say is:

I tested the PRE, the Millenia, and the Octopre.
I bought 4 Octopres.
The differences between them were so small,that I think the price difference is unjustifiable.
It was really really very less difference, and what I need them for, the Octopre is great, and I like the compressor feature in each Channel.

But it depends on what you want to use them for.

Get them all, and hear for yourself!

Hope this helps,
Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:05 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

Others that are roughly in your price range include;

Shadow Hills Gamma 8----$450/ch
2 ea. Daking quad-------$475/ch
2 ea. John Hardy quad---$690/ch
2 ea. API 3142----------$625/ch
4 ea. RNP---------------$240/ch

So many choices .....

-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:44 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

Quote:
2 x Focusrite ISA 428 http://www.focusrite.com/productdeta...id=34&iRange=2
Have one, I like it a lot, tons of features and sounds great as well.[SNIP] leaning this way because it seems to be great value.

IMHO the 428 is the best bang for the buck and if you have one already...there you go. For mult pres I think it is a great sound for the price. I love the way it sounds followed by a URS N on voice. Then again you can't go wrong with API.
Just my .02

I'm wanting a Helios type 69 dual mic pre. But that's a few jobs off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:43 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

UA 8110. Pricey, yes, but you really should hear this thing!

Also, the Presonus M80.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:52 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

http://www.presonus.com/m80.html
__________________
...for system configuration info see my profile
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2006, 04:52 AM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Re: >> 8 Input Mic-pres?

Quote:
well, all I can say is:

I tested the PRE, the Millenia, and the Octopre.
I bought 4 Octopres.
The differences between them were so small,that I think the price difference is unjustifiable.
It was really really very less difference, and what I need them for, the Octopre is great, and I like the compressor feature in each Channel.

But it depends on what you want to use them for.

Get them all, and hear for yourself!

Hope this helps,
Andi
I second the Octopre. I've got one with adat card for multi input recording/synth inputs. You'll have to spend alot of money to get better. I've got a lovely ISA110/1176 combo for vocals and "special" things. Just been using the octopre to re-record a load of bad sounds by pumping out of my 888|24 into ISA110/1176 or guitar pedals, or whatever(!) and back in via ADAT24 Bridge. Works a treat in getting that analogue sound. You have to check sync though. One day I'll have HD and won't have to worry about delays.....


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no input signal bypassing mbox1 pres bookerfatz2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-09-2010 03:15 PM
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 08:39 PM
Digi max fs pres vs. 003 pres. KevinAllen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-26-2010 06:18 PM
budget tube pres vs. 002R's pres davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-12-2003 06:04 AM
001 pres or Mackie pres??? QuikDraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2002 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com