Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2020, 05:20 AM
cebolao cebolao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 174
Default PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

please, please, please

it's soooo easy to fix, the whole postproduction world is waiting for this for 20 years

now we can only suppress all the warnings in write to selection

we need to supress only the warnings when we write to selection - not the whole session

we write automation to selection hundrets times a day, everytime we have to look at the requester and make sure we're not writing to the whole session

or turn off all warnings and hope we don't make a mistake and erase automation in the whole movie

it's absurd

i know, there is the guardian angel script, it kind of works, but it is laggy

we need protools to handle this by itself
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2020, 07:52 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 846
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

+1000000

I tried the Guardian Angel script, which is really cool and a valuable service provided by the developer, but for some reason it wasn't working on my system.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2020, 09:29 AM
ViciousLullabyz ViciousLullabyz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 28
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

I agree wholeheartedly!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2020, 10:34 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 236
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Can someone please explain the issue for non-post users? I work in music and I'm curious.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2020, 10:52 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,552
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
+1000000

I tried the Guardian Angel script, which is really cool and a valuable service provided by the developer, but for some reason it wasn't working on my system.
You have to let it control your app under system prefs /security. Works like a charm with 20.5 and Catalina here. And "suppress automation warnings" needs to be OFF for it to do something. I can't work without it anymore.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3.1 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2020, 10:57 AM
cebolao cebolao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 174
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

on my 2 systems (10.14) guardian angel "kind of works"

sometimes it works, sometimes it waits 3-4 seconds before clocing the requester. which is a super-annoying showstopper.

it's not like rewritting the audio engine or implementing folder tracks. it's just one annoying requester that should disappear. probably 15 minutes of coding.

avid. you can make it. please.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2020, 10:59 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,552
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
Can someone please explain the issue for non-post users? I work in music and I'm curious.
When you're in preview and have nothing selected on a track PT will happily write the change to the entire session length when you hit "write to selection" (essentially wiping out your entire automation on all tracks in preview). There is a warning popup but it only differs marginally from the completely useless "hey, I wrote something to your selection (hit OK to continue)"- pop up as they both look very similar at first glance.

GuardianAngel clicks the nag-screen away automatically and leaves the relevant warning open when you've written to the entire session length.

Imagine a screen that pops up every time you hit command-C saying "Hey I've just copied something for you! Press OK to continue" and another when you forgot to select something saying "Oops, there was no selection. So I didn't copy anything Press OK to continue". Now let that sink in and you're emotionally pretty close to someone working in post getting those screens 100 times every day ;-)))
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3.1 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 07-15-2020 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2020, 11:07 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,552
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Quote:
Originally Posted by cebolao View Post
on my 2 systems (10.14) guardian angel "kind of works"

sometimes it works, sometimes it waits 3-4 seconds before clocing the requester. which is a super-annoying showstopper.

it's not like rewritting the audio engine or implementing folder tracks. it's just one annoying requester that should disappear. probably 15 minutes of coding.

avid. you can make it. please.
Ultimately the function should finally do what PT's own tool-tip says: "write to selection". No selection - nothing written. The End.

(The 2 times per year I do want to write to the entire length I'm happy to select the entire session. But not at the cost of having to press OK about 1 Trillion times that same year please which is what's happening now)
__________________
PTHDn 2021.3.1 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 07-15-2020 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2020, 11:07 AM
cebolao cebolao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 174
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Quote:
Originally Posted by JingleDjango View Post
Can someone please explain the issue for non-post users? I work in music and I'm curious.
in postproduction automation is used all the time

you don't set the eq for dialog in the whole movie, you eq and process each line, sometimes each word individually.

you do this by entering preview mode, tweaking the plugins, selecting the range where you want your settings to be written to, and clicking WRITE TO SELECTION.

all fine - if you select a range.

if you just place a cursor somewhere in the session (so the LENGTH of selection is 0) and you click WRITE TO SELECTION - you will write your settings to the whole session.

imagine tweaking dialogs for 6 weeks and then erasing all the eq automation with one click.

so there is a requester asking you every time if you are sure you know what you are doing. it says "are you sure you want to write automation to your selected range?" or "are you sure you want to write automation to the whole session?"

you have to read the requester and press enter. hundrets times a day.

or disable these warnings in preferences.

but then you risk that one day at 2 AM you don't select a range and write auto to the whole session erasing for example all you eq.

what we need is a requester that pops up only when we're going to write automation to the whole session - this is a scary thing that can ruin your work.

writing automation to selected range should happen with no requester at all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2020, 11:08 AM
cebolao cebolao is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 174
Default Re: PLEASE, update the write to selection requester

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
Ultimately the function should finally do what PT's own tool-tip says: "write to selection". No selection - nothing written. The End.

(The 2 times per year I do want to write to the entire length I'm happy to select the entire session. But not at the cost of having to press OK about 1 Trillion times that same year please which is what's happening now)
yep
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'write automation to selection' keyboard shortcut Ben Wood Post - Surround - Video 8 06-19-2019 12:42 AM
C24 - Write To Selection? adamclairmont ICON & C|24 1 07-12-2018 08:27 AM
The dark side of WRITE TO SELECTION markuse Post - Surround - Video 45 10-09-2015 10:09 AM
Write automation to selection Toto2004 macOS 0 10-11-2011 04:38 AM
Write a snapshot of Automation to a selection? sco Post - Surround - Video 25 08-11-2005 03:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com