Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2000, 03:04 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Focusrite Red 3

The Focusrite Red 3 gets very hot. It is separated on either side by half a rack space (it's an SKB case), and above it is a Red 8, below it is an L2 (which generates heat to the sides, not the top).

Has anyone had any problems with these units overheating if they are too close together? The Avalon 737s overheated twice, so I'm trying to be careful.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2000, 07:26 AM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: Focusrite Red 3

They do simmer, but we've had one in a rack for three years with only trouble being a blown fuse… doubt it was heat related. Just allow a bit of space top & bottom as you are. If it (or other gear) is running too hot, try 220~240V whisper fans, running off of 110, mounted in the back of the rack or closer if needed. Extremely quiet, and move just enough air to keep tubes & Class A stuff ventilated! Good luck…

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite ISA-428 Mk 1 albee1952 Buy & Sell 5 01-02-2014 03:19 PM
Focusrite and 002 jamesimm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-14-2012 10:13 AM
Focusrite d2/d3 shareec70 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-19-2009 12:32 PM
focusrite D2 rageagainst Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-27-2004 02:59 PM
Focusrite 1.9 ? Fortran 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-10-2003 06:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com