Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2021, 07:14 AM
blue-element blue-element is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 15
Default Monitor setting in PT 2021

I'm working with 2 Monitors, on left side is the Mixing window and on the right side there is the Event window. I have tried to set this for every session, but when I open a session once more I have only the Event window on the right side. So I must klick on the Mix window and must grab it to the left side. Is there a special Setting in PT to have the windows on the correct side on the monitors when i open a session ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2021, 08:05 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,603
Default Re: Monitorsetting in PT 2021

Not much info to go on If you are running Windows, set everything how you want and then hit Alt-F4 to close Pro Tools. That should make it open the same way next time(at least it used to work this way). If that doesn't help, then come back with a lot more details like"
OS?
Monitor resolution(for both screens)?
Scaling setting(if its been changed)?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2021, 09:42 AM
blue-element blue-element is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 15
Default Re: Monitorsetting in PT 2021

OK, my System is Mac 10.15.7 on PT 2021.3.1
Is there an identical Setting to close PT as you have mentioned with Windows ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2021, 11:50 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,642
Default Re: Monitor setting in PT 2021

Same here.
This hasn't worked well in a long time for me, PT opening sessions and forgetting window settings.
I've given up.
Everytime I open a session on my dual monitor setup, mix window is like it should be, full-screen on monitor 1, I have to activate edit window and drag it to monitor 2 and make it full screen. Everytime.
Also, allthough it might be a different issue, PT is rubbish with remembering hidden status of tracks and open/collapsed track folders.


Edit: Sorry, I was talking about apple's "spaces" and not displays. Although PT have never been good with either.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2021, 12:25 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,269
Default Re: Monitor setting in PT 2021

Not a proper solution but a workaround that might be more convenient, can you not save a Pro Tools Window Configuration for what you want? Then you can recall if it isn't right.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.3.1, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2021, 12:31 AM
blue-element blue-element is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 15
Default Re: Monitor setting in PT 2021

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Same here.
This hasn't worked well in a long time for me, PT opening sessions and forgetting window settings.
I've given up.
Everytime I open a session on my dual monitor setup, mix window is like it should be, full-screen on monitor 1, I have to activate edit window and drag it to monitor 2 and make it full screen. Everytime.
Also, allthough it might be a different issue, PT is rubbish with remembering hidden status of tracks and open/collapsed track folders.


Edit: Sorry, I was talking about apple's "spaces" and not displays. Although PT have never been good with either.
As I can hear you have the same problem, for me the chapter is finished. No problem I can live with it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2021, 01:37 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,169
Default Re: Monitor setting in PT 2021

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Not a proper solution but a workaround that might be more convenient, can you not save a Pro Tools Window Configuration for what you want? Then you can recall if it isn't right.
This.

The problem is OS wide. If you have two monitors and windows on both monitors, as soon as your monitors go off (power saver during the night) once they are powered on all windows are on main monitor.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a headphone mix-anyway to monitor? Johnrg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-19-2009 11:02 PM
Setting up a second monitor? jwd65 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-07-2005 04:51 PM
OT: Monitor Setting Weirdness donkerce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-01-2005 06:11 AM
Monitor color setting pbjnus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-18-2005 08:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com