Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2018, 07:06 AM
RuLemer RuLemer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Latency bug - recorded audio 1ms early

Hi there,

I'm totally stumped.

I'm trying to accurately measure the latency of my system for research reasons. I send a signal from MacBook Pro (10.12.6) running Pro Tools 12.8.2 out of my Scarlett 18i20, then using a cable I plug the signal back into an input. When I record this input, the recorded signal is 1ms earlier than the waveform of the original signal being sent out

This doesn't change when I relaunch PT, when I try at a different sample rate, with delay compensation on or off, with a different signal, or when I change the hardware buffer size

There are no plugins being used, and no h/w insert delay

My rig is prophetic!!

I can only presume there's some sort of automatic latency compensation going on that is malfunctioning. Anyone know anything about this or how to turn it off?

Thank you kindly for your time!

~ Ru
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2018-02-01 at 22.30.32.jpg (16.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2018, 07:46 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,418
Default Re: Latency bug - recorded audio 1ms early

Recordings are always moved to compensate for whatever latency that the interface reports. You should contact Focusrite about this.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:30 AM
RuLemer RuLemer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default Re: Latency bug - recorded audio 1ms early

I've talked to several people about this now and they've reported this issue amongst several other USB interfaces. Although it doesn't occur in my firewire Fireface 800

I spoke to Focusrite about it - they say it's out of their control and to do with Pro Tools' interaction with the playback device. DAW's like Logic have included a manual control for compensating for the RTL time, apparently Pro Tools have chosen not to to encourage users to use Avid hardware, which of course works perfectly

If this is the case that it's a real bummer! Especially as I can't find any RTL figures available to the user at all. Even in my session settings window the overall latency shows as 0 when using my USB interface
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2018, 04:31 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,418
Default Re: Latency bug - recorded audio 1ms early

That would be a good suggestion to make on http://protools.ideascale.com/.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:30 PM
DIRX DIRX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: germany
Posts: 6
Default Re: Latency bug - recorded audio 1ms early

On the Input tab of I/O setup, there is a checkbox "Compensate for input delays after record pass"....
that should turn it off.

Cheers,
Dirk
Attached Images
File Type: png INPUT_Compensate.PNG (24.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recorded audio placed 40ms too early peteage FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 3 09-11-2013 08:05 PM
Recorded audio playing back too early jonwade92 macOS 3 04-15-2013 01:01 PM
Midi recorded early allstaar macOS 2 05-09-2011 03:27 PM
Recorded audio too early in relation to backing track MagDee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 02-23-2011 04:23 PM
Recorded Audio Not in Time bug Audio always early Hawkeye Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-20-2005 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com