Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2017, 03:57 PM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Hi,

I'm having issue with digital pops and clicks in my recordings using a Focusrite Clarett 8Pre on my MacBook Pro. I'm using a Clarett OctaPre over ADAT with this setup.

The pops and clicks are very intermittent and only occur every few minutes. There isn't a pattern and the pops/clicks are different in amplitude. They occur on all recorded tracks. In my case, I'm using 14 tracks for drums. The pops are more pronounced on some tracks but is on every track at the same time.

Here's a sub kick mic recording with the click. There is one at 20 secs and 24 secs.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx...ElYckNvRlFacHM


I've already went through the steps of checking for clocking issues. I've changed clocking source between the interface and the OctaPre. I've used ADAT and wordclock. I've switched optical cables. Nothing on that front seems to make a difference. When monitoring through the interface, muting the tracks that are recording, I don't hear any problems.

On the Pro Tools side, I've tried using different buffer sizes, from 32 samples to 512. The lower sample size of course still has the normal issues of high CPU usage. The higher sampling rates are showing very little CPU usage. Also, I'm not encountering any errors. I've tried ignore CPU errors option for a bit. I'm not using any plugins on the tracks.

The weird thing is if I record using my Windows 10 PC, I haven't encountered these issues. I haven't spent as much time with this as its not the optimal recording setup for me. My MacBook is movable and the Thunderbolt cable isn't long enough for me to control the interface on the PC. So, it could be possible that the problem could show up on the PC but I haven't had it yet.

I am in communication with Focusrite. With the holidays, I haven't had much time to diagnose with them yet. Let me know if any of you might know what my issue is.

Thanks, Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2017, 03:59 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,424
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Where does it say what PT version you are using and the rest like
what drives? Make and models?

Do you have only one drive for everything or an external drive for recordings?

Ram?
What MBP Model etc
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2017, 04:34 PM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Sorry. PT 12.7. 2013 15" rMBP using Sierra. Using internal PCIe based storage drive. 16 GB ram. CPU is quad core i7. Can't recall the clock speed. Atleast 2.2 GHz.

The Windows 10 PC is custom built i7 4770k quad core. 16 GB ram. Windows 10 Pro. Recording to a RAID 10 drive configuration. OS drive is separate SSD.

Last edited by chrsharvick29; 01-02-2017 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2017, 06:32 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 321
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

I had or still have a problem with claRETT8/iMac set up focusrite still has no solution for me. we're still using a work-around. their (beta) driver didn't work for me
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2017, 07:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,571
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Do I understand the hardware correctly? You have 2 pieces of Clarett hardware, one connected to the computer, and the other connected with a lightpipe to the first? If this is correct, have you set the clock source correctly? If the clicks and pops only happen on the channels that come in via lightpipe, you probably do NOT have clocking set right. Assuming only a single lightpipe "cable" and no wordclock connections, the proper clocking would be(under the Hardware setup page) OPTICAL, and you MUST make sure the sample rate of the lightpipe unit matches the sample rate of your session.

Whenever you connect more than 1 digital unit, only 1 can be the master clock, and any other pieces must slave to the master. If you have wordclock connections on both units(I don't use them, but I believe they have WC), you could simply run a WC cable(BNC connectors on both ends) from the main unit WC OUT (the one that connects directly to the computer) to the WC IN of the second unit(which connects via lightpipe) and leave the clock source(in the Hardware setup page) set to INTERNAL, and set the "slave" unit to use external sync.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2017, 07:59 PM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Do I understand the hardware correctly? You have 2 pieces of Clarett hardware, one connected to the computer, and the other connected with a lightpipe to the first? If this is correct, have you set the clock source correctly? If the clicks and pops only happen on the channels that come in via lightpipe, you probably do NOT have clocking set right. Assuming only a single lightpipe "cable" and no wordclock connections, the proper clocking would be(under the Hardware setup page) OPTICAL, and you MUST make sure the sample rate of the lightpipe unit matches the sample rate of your session.

Whenever you connect more than 1 digital unit, only 1 can be the master clock, and any other pieces must slave to the master. If you have wordclock connections on both units(I don't use them, but I believe they have WC), you could simply run a WC cable(BNC connectors on both ends) from the main unit WC OUT (the one that connects directly to the computer) to the WC IN of the second unit(which connects via lightpipe) and leave the clock source(in the Hardware setup page) set to INTERNAL, and set the "slave" unit to use external sync.
It's not clocking settings. I definitely understand how this works. I did use the BNC connectors to test referencing the interface's clock on the ADAT device. I was hoping it would be that simple. The pops can be heard on all channels being recorded, not just the ones being supplied through lightpipe. I'm using all eight channels on the interface and using 6 channels on the ADAT device.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2017, 08:01 PM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
I had or still have a problem with claRETT8/iMac set up focusrite still has no solution for me. we're still using a work-around. their (beta) driver didn't work for me
Really? Can you tell me what was the issue and what work around you are using?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2017, 09:34 AM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 321
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDCWF3TwKEE
After getting the (beta driver) insatlled playback at sample rate plays back is fine,BUT if I try to record at ANY sample rate I get random digital Clicks. so I'm back to 2.1.2 driver and running sessions with this video wokaround.UNTIL we get a fix from Apple 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2017, 10:38 AM
chrsharvick29 chrsharvick29 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 10
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDCWF3TwKEE
After getting the (beta driver) insatlled playback at sample rate plays back is fine,BUT if I try to record at ANY sample rate I get random digital Clicks. so I'm back to 2.1.2 driver and running sessions with this video wokaround.UNTIL we get a fix from Apple 
Great! I'll try this and see how it goes. If i'm understanding you correctly, the old 2.1.2 driver has the issue of crackling but the workaround of having the sound settings open clears that issue up?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2017, 11:05 AM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 321
Default Re: Digital Clicks and Pops in Recorded Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsharvick29 View Post
Great! I'll try this and see how it goes. If i'm understanding you correctly, the old 2.1.2 driver has the issue of crackling but the workaround of having the sound settings open clears that issue up?
Correct,hope it helps you too
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicks and pops in digital inputs Manne Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-25-2005 12:55 AM
Clicks/pops in recorded tracks soundshedstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-25-2004 01:54 PM
Digital Clicks & Pops simsbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-14-2004 10:06 PM
Digital Clicks and Pops fmckinnon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-01-2004 11:40 PM
how to clean up recorded pops/clicks from punching resemahn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-14-2003 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com