Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:58 PM
alexanem alexanem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

Hi everyone,

I am currently unable to open any of my Pro Tools sessions. I can launch the program, but when I attempt to open any session, or start a new one, I get the following message:

"This session is saved on a volume set to 'Transfer' only. If permitted, set the volume(s) in question to 'P' (Playback) or 'R' (record) in the Workspace."

When I open the Workspace and try to change this "volume" setting on my harddrive from T (Transfer) to P (Playback), I get a message that:

"OS' cannot be designated as an Audio Playback volume because it is not a valid audio volume."

Am I not changing this volume setting in the right place? Does anyone have any suggestions one what I might do to be able to open my sessions again?

Thank you for your help,

Alex
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2010, 07:32 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

do you have Read & Wright permissions to the drive?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2010, 08:12 PM
cmcmahon cmcmahon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, Onatario, Canada
Posts: 1
Default Re: Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

Having the same challenge and yes, we have read-write permissions on the drive.
Any ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2010, 04:49 AM
DNDBEATZ DNDBEATZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

Had the same problem... This fixed it.. u do exactly what it says... just got to know where to look


Fix: Cancel out of the dialog and, from the Window menu in pro tools, select Workspace. This brings up a window that lists the available volumes (hard drives, etc.). Look at the "A" column associated with the suspect volume. It probably shows up as "T" (for transfer). Click on the "T" and, from the little pop-up menu, select "R" (for record).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2021, 10:10 AM
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South West
Posts: 669
Default Re: Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

OMG, this thread saved me from having a heart attack. I realize the thread is old, but I just had this Transfer / Copy error. No idea how this value got changed... was working, stepped away and tried to reload my product after installing some plug-ins.

Total panic, then I found this thread. The fix worked like a champ, even on PT 2021... Why does PT allow these values to get changed???
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.2.3. Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.0
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.6.1974
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.01

PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2021, 03:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,464
Default Re: Session saved on a volume set to Transfer only?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
OMG, this thread saved me from having a heart attack. I realize the thread is old, but I just had this Transfer / Copy error. No idea how this value got changed... was working, stepped away and tried to reload my product after installing some plug-ins.

Total panic, then I found this thread. The fix worked like a champ, even on PT 2021... Why does PT allow these values to get changed???
More likely that its OSX making the change. I've never had this happen on any Windows setup in 17 years of PT
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session saved on "transfer" only volume mcm15 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-24-2013 11:58 AM
Help! "Session is saved on a volume set to 'Transfer' only" nuemes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-06-2011 05:46 PM
Session saved on a volume set to "Transfer" only Gilles D 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-02-2009 02:19 AM
The session is saved on a volume set to "Transfer" only... fiddlecat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-20-2008 03:16 AM
Error Message: This session is saved on a volume set to Tran ckboddic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-18-2007 09:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com