Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2002, 07:08 PM
slangification slangification is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 765
Default Beat Detective Question

I've been wondering about this for a long time:

How do you learn the tempo of a loop without generating bar|beat markers?

I've been using a (bad) workaround, but I know there must be a better way.

Here is how I've been doing it. I get drum loop A (which for this example is 2 bars, neatly trimmed kick drum to kick drum), and use beat detective to generate bar|beat markers. So, now I have a grid at, say 100 bpm. Then I have another loop (drum loop B) that is not at the same tempo; it's much faster, and I want to use Serato Pitch 'N Time to make it 100 bpm. For this, I need to know the exact tempo of drum loop B. So, I move it about 30 seconds beyond the current end of the song, and I use beat detective to generate bar|beat markers. Then, since I now know the tempo, I can correctly process in Pitch 'N Time.

The problem with this method is not only does it seem to be more involved than necessary, but I wind up with a lot of messy bar|beat markers, and often (here is the big problem) for some reason it messes up all my other bar|beat markers (and thus the whole song), whether they occur before or after the new bar|beat markers.

Surely there's a better way. Can someone clue me in?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2002, 09:54 PM
audio1234 audio1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago
Posts: 407
Default Re: Beat Detective Question

The identify beat function.Select your two bars,open identify beat function make sure you put in the two bars click identify and your done.Then go to your tempo marker and add the tempo change for those bars.
Peace
BT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2002, 03:01 AM
thescunthorpekid thescunthorpekid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Scunthorpe
Posts: 11
Default Re: Beat Detective Question

if you use the samples function on Pitch'N" Time you don't need to know the tempo of the loops......
with serato open select desired duration in Grid mode - check samples window and remember number -
highlight your ill fitting loop - change the "outgoing samples" box to the number that you just remembered....
Loops conformed without changing tempo maps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2002, 09:37 AM
slangification slangification is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 765
Default Re: Beat Detective Question

Quote:
Originally posted by thes****horpekid:
if you use the samples function on Pitch'N" Time you don't need to know the tempo of the loops......
with serato open select desired duration in Grid mode - check samples window and remember number -
highlight your ill fitting loop - change the "outgoing samples" box to the number that you just remembered....
Loops conformed without changing tempo maps.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hey, that's a pretty good tip, thanks!! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Quote:
Originally posted by audio1234:
The identify beat function.Select your two bars,open identify beat function make sure you put in the two bars click identify and your done.Then go to your tempo marker and add the tempo change for those bars.
Peace
BT
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hi... I'm not sure if your PT software works the same way mine does, but that doesn't solve it - it does very much the same thing that Beat Detective does: it automatically adds in the bar|beat markers, realigns the grid and messes up the grid for the song.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beat Detective Question albatross5791 macOS 3 06-05-2011 06:02 PM
Beat Detective Question jorg Pro Tools 9 2 02-18-2011 02:41 PM
Beat Detective question BoFromUnrivaled 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-15-2009 05:32 AM
beat detective question bleached04 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-31-2006 02:17 PM
Beat Detective Question Dan M. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-27-2005 10:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com