Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2022, 03:38 PM
anearforgear anearforgear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57
Default AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Title says it all. I discovered this when opening a session with AutoTune activated on a track and also opened via AudioSuite. The session crashed and Pro Tools crashed/quit.

When I tried to install a previous version of AT (8.0.4) the same thing happens.

I've tried creating a brand new session with only one track and one plugin, same crash/quit.

Can anyone else confirm?

Mac Mini 2018 / Big Sur 11.7 / Pro Tools Studio 2022.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2022, 05:46 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,925
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

I don't have AutoTune 8, but I have AutoTune 9 (Pro) and I am not seeing issues.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2022.4
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 11.6.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2022, 08:06 AM
mykla mykla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: California
Posts: 3
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Yes, launching AT 8.1.8 immediately crashes PT 2022.9 both in aax and audiosuite modes! This is bad news, because the subsequent AT releases have a very different user interface that I found very difficult to work with. AVID wizards please fix this if you can!

Last edited by mykla; 09-29-2022 at 08:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2022, 09:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,280
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Hi, welcome to the community.

Unfortunately it is up to 3rd party plugin vendor to fix their plugin, and I am 99.99999% certain AT8 is not going to get bugfix releases anymore.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2022, 12:19 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,878
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Hi !

Antares has been very poor over the last few months or maybe years. After struggling a lot with it too, I ended up buying the UAD Autotune version and it runs amazing. I think the problem is the AAX version. You can try wrapping the VST version too if you don't want or can't buy the UAD one.
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2022, 12:24 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,927
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeam25 View Post
Hi !

Antares has been very poor over the last few months or maybe years. After struggling a lot with it too, I ended up buying the UAD Autotune version and it runs amazing. I think the problem is the AAX version. You can try wrapping the VST version too if you don't want or can't buy the UAD one.
If you have the VST3 64 version, get Waves free StudioRack to host it.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2022, 01:05 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 169
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I don't have AutoTune 8, but I have AutoTune 9 (Pro) and I am not seeing issues.
I'm curious, what version of os are you running? I have Big Sur 11.2.3 and AutoTune Pro 9.1.1(which I believe is the latest) won't install for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2022, 06:25 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 966
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
If you have the VST3 64 version, get Waves free StudioRack to host it.
Or use Blue Cat Patchwork.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2022, 03:37 AM
mykla mykla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: California
Posts: 3
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

Thanks guys. I tried it and AT 8.1.8 works great in Waves StudioRack and not so great in PatchWork (not resizable, defaults to tiny screen).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2022, 04:53 AM
anearforgear anearforgear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 57
Default Re: AutoTune 8 (8.1.8 and 8.0.4) broken in 2022.9

It's good to see there are some workarounds available, and it sounds like the latest version (AutoTune Pro) is not affected.

However, because MANY of us rely on AT8 today, have to access sessions that used AT8 and/or need backward compatibility for any reason--we need to see an update from Antares and/or Avid on this.

Future use of AT8 via workarounds is not a full solution, particularly because there is no way to even open sessions with the plugin active under 2022.9.

Last edited by anearforgear; 09-30-2022 at 04:54 AM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Shuttle Lock Speed broken in 2022.5 [PT-290238] ArchStanton Pro Tools 31 10-26-2022 11:38 AM
Looping regions (Audio and MIDI) broken in 2022.6? XJENSEN Pro Tools 3 07-12-2022 11:26 AM
Is the MIDI zoom on the edit window broken in 2022.05 Windows? snowplaysmusic Pro Tools 1 06-17-2022 07:44 PM
Crash moving tracks to new Routing Folder in PT 2022.4 [FIXED 2022.5] Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 43 05-29-2022 04:59 AM
autotune update to 7.7.4 still broken!! Gems Records Pro Tools 11 2 04-16-2014 08:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com