Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 09-30-2022, 04:59 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 535
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
Out of interest, was the bug fixed in the 2022.9 firmware for Carbon or in the 2022.9 Pro Tools software?

The reason for me asking is that my Pro Tools Carbon subscription expired Sep 10, 2022 to a perpetual license and the latest Pro Tools version that I have access to is 2022.7.
Given that the "promise" or ambition of a stand-alone app to update the Carbon firmware has not materialised, I think you'd be best to update the firmware with a copy of PT Intro (if that works with Carbon) or perhaps subscribe to a fresh copy of Studio for one month to get the latest firmware update.

There was definitely a Carbon firmware update as part of 2022.9, but I can't tell you what it did.

I imagine Avid would probably send you a copy if you asked nicely, anyway.

Dominic
__________________
MacBookPro M1Max 16" 10/32 64GB 2TB, Monterey 12.6, Pro Tools 2022.9, Carbon.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 09-30-2022, 05:11 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 294
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Thanks Dominic, I've already upgraded the firmware as i am working in a different studio at the moment, which has 2022.9 ultimate. It will be interesting to see what happens when I connect it to the 2022.7 studio system.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09-30-2022, 07:02 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,097
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
...was the bug fixed in the 2022.9 firmware for Carbon or in the 2022.9 Pro Tools software...
It was a software fix in the Hybrid Engine (so benefited HD hardware as well). I started up a support case for you so please check your email and reply there as needed. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-01-2022, 04:01 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 294
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
It was a software fix in the Hybrid Engine (so benefited HD hardware as well). I started up a support case for you so please check your email and reply there as needed. Thanks!
thanks for your reply and help, that's good to know!

I've also got a HDX system with Ultimate/Flex as my main rig, so that one will benefit from the fixed Hybrid Engine too..
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-11-2022, 09:58 AM
jmkeane jmkeane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Using Carbon with Latest PT 2022.9. It's still broken. Recording stems back into session via auxes results in random tracks being recorded out of sync. Significantly out of sync. 500 to 600 samples at 48k. Nightmare. I'm working in 5.1, laying back eight 5.1 stem tracks at once. I use the same process on my HDX rig everyday. No sync issues ever. Only difference is no hybrid engine being used in HDX system...

Macbook Pro M1, Monterey 12.6

Last edited by jmkeane; 10-11-2022 at 10:19 AM. Reason: more detail
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-11-2022, 10:01 AM
martthie_08 martthie_08 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 294
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkeane View Post
Using Carbon with Latest PT 2022.9. It's still broken.
just checking: did you update the Carbon firmware that came with this release?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-11-2022, 10:12 AM
jmkeane jmkeane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by martthie_08 View Post
just checking: did you update the Carbon firmware that came with this release?
Absolutely. Firmware update was completed.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-11-2022, 12:19 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,097
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkeane View Post
Using Carbon with Latest PT 2022.9. It's still broken. Recording stems back into session via auxes results in random tracks being recorded out of sync. Significantly out of sync. 500 to 600 samples at 48k. Nightmare. I'm working in 5.1, laying back eight 5.1 stem tracks at once. I use the same process on my HDX rig everyday. No sync issues ever. Only difference is no hybrid engine being used in HDX system...

Macbook Pro M1, Monterey 12.6
Sorry to hear that! Started a case on your behalf to get more info and to track this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-11-2022, 05:42 PM
jmkeane jmkeane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Sorry to hear that! Started a case on your behalf to get more info and to track this.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-27-2022, 04:47 AM
Burgher Burgher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3
Default Re: More Carbon Sync Issues...Must Get Solved...

I am very excited about the Carbon Pre announcement and I am planning on purchasing 2x Units for a fully expanded Carbon system. However, I am concerned with the sync issues enough that I will be holding off doing this until it has been confirmed to be solved. I expect I am not the only person in this position. I think if they could get this resolved Carbon will be a phenomenal Pro Tools System.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Phase issues with hardware inserts alhardy Pro Tools | Carbon 4 12-30-2021 01:39 PM
Sync Problems with Carbon Downstream tomhartman Pro Tools | Carbon 7 07-01-2021 03:15 PM
Using Carbon with Avid Sync HD? akhafaji Pro Tools | Carbon 1 01-18-2021 01:03 AM
Radar II sync to Pro Tools ***Solved*** GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-13-2008 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com